chrisknits

Oh the wind!

on December 20, 2012

Sounds like we could just blow away! Prayers for those affected by last nights storms in the south.

I have been busy the last few days. Dr visits, shopping-all done, and crafting. Lots to show, so today is for one project, tomorrow is for the others. Since this one isn’t a knitting project I am featuring it alone. And so I can tut you the details of how I did it.

Outside case

Vera Bradley Paperback Cover

I know, you’re saying, “so what”. I got this baby off of eBay, and man did it take me some effort to finally snag one! All the ones I started bidding on quickly went up. I think the seller was bidding against me! Anywho. This one was an outright purchase option, and since I love this design, I went ahead and paid a little more. And it is perfect. See the cute button I added. Love it. Now, look inside.

Inside case

Man, it sounds like my roof is trying to break free of the house!! Yikes! OK, back to the cover. See, see how wonderful it is? Um, OK, so it’s the inside of a cover. What’s the big deal? If you look real close, you might see some sewn lines across the front and back pockets. See those? They are the wonder that is my cover. Because they turn a plain cover into a ……..

wait for it………

hold your horses……..

the truth will be revealed in 3……2…….1……

Almost there…….

TA DA!!

Filled case

Interchangeable Needle Case

Man, I wonder if my house will last long enough for me to post this! So, here’s what I did:

Sewed a pocket 4″ from the bottom of the front cover. The top portion was then divided into 3 compartments. You see the US13’s in two of the pockets. The large pocket has 5 cables and a packet of stitch markers, extra keys, and end stoppers. On the back side I divided it into 7 compartments. I have 1 each of 4’s, 5’s, and 6’s, a spot for my 7’s and 3 sets of 8’s. Yes, I am prone to forget what I have ordered! I did not sew through the Vera label, I lifted it up and didn’t go all the way over the edge as I did with the other pockets. I just couldn’t mar Vera.

I cut a bit of the ribbon off to wrap around the button for a closure. The remaining ribbon was knotted through the end of a key for easy access. And that’s the fact Jack!

Now, to wait for that other cover to be delivered by the Dad of the couple who lives in Hubster’s house. Seems I forgot to update my address on eBay! Another ditzy Chrisknits moment. Why is it Hubster’s house? Hubster wants our old house back. Silly boy! He thinks the new house is too big. Well, in 5 years it will be too big for 2 of us. But right now, with 4 people and 2 dogs, it sometimes feels too small! LOL.

This idea came from a Raveler, not my own brightness.

OK, go forth and find yourself a paperback cover and get sewing! I am still wondering if I should bid on some more covers?

One response to “Oh the wind!

  1. [...] is a link to how I made the case a needlecase. And here are photos of the [...]

Cat got your tongue?

