chrisknits

KAL Attempt

on August 23, 2013
image

Malabrigo!

Yes, I know I suck at them. But this is a choose your own pattern and yarn kind of deal. And just what I need to spur me to use yarn and pattern I already have on hand. I am making Panel Jacket by Carol Lapin. Joining with Nice and Knit for this one. Casting on today with my Malabrigo that has aged in the stash for a few millennium.

I am hoping the colors do not pool too terribly. The jacket is made in panels, duh!, so I will be able to detect pooling early on with each piece I make. If I start to see a pool of color I will just add in another skein and alternate. With only 23 sts per panel it should take no time to determine any pooling. And an added bonus, with working each piece individually I am hoping to decrease any wear on the yarn and panels. Now, the picking up sts and 3 needle bind offs to join all the panels will be a pain, but worth it in the end to preserve the Malabrigo. Fingers crossed it works!

5 responses to “KAL Attempt

  1. Janet says:

    Panel Jacket is an interesting pattern. Love the color of Malabrigo. Looking forward to watching your progress.

  2. Hanni says:

    Love this shade of Malabrigo. I am sure, it will work beautifully with the jacket pattern.

  3. Fofo says:

    You go girl!!! The yarn is lovely!

  4. Karen says:

    That pattern looks like fun! The yarn is gorgeous. I look forward to watching your progress.

Cat got your tongue?

