Knitting

Life

It’s not for the week kneed individual sometimes. Things have been on my mind lately, and they are just demanding to be released. I will vent here, because if you don’t want to read it, you can just click off this page. But others in real life may not be willing to sit and listen! LOL.

First: The other day I was clicking around the net. While I was clicking off a page I noticed a headline, “How to get more done”. I didn’t bother clicking on it to see what was the method of getting more done. Here’s my beef, why are we pushing people to do more. Why, as a people, do we want to do more? What does this “more” bring us? Does it magically make our life better? Does it make our kids better behaved? Does it make our marriage better? What is the end goal of getting “more” done?

Am I making sense? I look around at friends and family, and I see people who are so stressed and stretched, trying to do more. I’m trying to understand just what the trade off is. Does this “more” that we experience balance the stress of running to do more? When I see parents over-booking their kids, in activities and lessons, I always wonder, does the kid wake up one day and demand to be signed up for all these activities? And, if they do, why would parents over schedule their child’s lives? Do I just not get it?

We encourage the girls to do things they want to do, but we limit sports to one per season per girl. If the sports overlap they need to determine which one is most important. Have we limited their opportunities? No. We are open to them exploring whatever sport/activity they want to do, we just don’t want them to stretch themselves thin with school work. That’s the most important thing.

The second thing: I have had it with the political ill will. Stop the bomb throwing and name calling and temper tantrums! I am talking to the politicians from the President down to the city dog catcher! We are citizens of the UNITED States of America. Now let’s start acting like it! If I hear President Obama slam Republicans for “brinkmanship” or not “compromising” one more time, I am going to explode. If the Republicans continue to create bogey men to scare up votes, I will scream! If the Dem leadership, what a joke, continue to scare seniors with the threat that “Republicans are going to take away their Medicare and SS”, I will throw a shoe at my TV. What a bunch of losers. If I hear the main stream media spout the DNC or RNC talking points one. more. time. I will flip! You are the media, REPORT THE FACTS, stop using your bias to paint either side as the demons.

And you party line robots, get over yourselves. Who made you God and who told you that your way is the only way? And who told you that behaving like a child when your side doesn’t win is acceptable? Grow up! We live in a country that allows each of us to have the freedom to have an opinion on everything. Just because we have that right doesn’t mean we can bash someone over the head with our opinion. Use some respect and debate your viewpoints, just check your fury at the door. And the ridicule. Do you really think you are all that cute coming up with names for the other side? What, are you still in 2nd grade?

I know this won’t change anything, but I just had to get it out. I am really having a hard time being proud of anything our government is coming out with right now.

3 thoughts on “Life”

  1. You know I agree with you. I, myself, have been overwhelmed of late and feeling like I want the world to just stop for a while. I commute 2 hours a day, rush through my day and all the deadlines that are given to me, rush home, rush to get dinner, rush to get the kids to bed and then rush myself to bed to get up and do it all over again! Then I’ve taken a second job on Friday and Saturday to help pay the bills. The Europeans have it right, they take life at a slower pace. Americans work harder, get less time off from work, and are the most dissatisfied with their lives. We need to stop cramming so much in our lives and get back to basic things. Enjoying life, enjoying our kids, spending lazy afternoons swinging in a hammock. That’s what I want; I just don’t see a way to attain it. My soul cries out for it.

    I am fed up with the politicians of this country and I say sack the whole lot of them and lets start over.

    Thumbs up to you Chris!

    1. FoFo, You are so right. Wish we could live at Europe’s pace. And I so wish that life didn’t push most of us into jobs that pay the bills. I am so thankful that my Husband allowed me to stay home and take care of our kids. Now that they are older, he still isn’t demanding I get a job. We have done without a lot of extras just so I could stay home, but not everyone has that option. Take time for yourself when you can get it. Recharge your batteries every chance you get.

      1. I stayed home fro a while and I loved it! But my husband lost his job so I had to go back to work. I didn’t mind it so much at first but the cost of gas is killing us these days. This is all spurred on by an ex that won’t pay his child support either. I am in search of another job closer to home but frankly, I just want to be at home. I want to cook and clean and take care of my family. I don’t want to work anymore. No time for that these days but maybe in the fall when my second job will be over.

Cat got your tongue?

