Shopping

I never said I was on a diet

The yarn or food kind. And I am not, not really. The food kind is just a vow to eat less during meal times. Even when I am eating out at fast food, or what not, I do not have to eat the full portion. I can leave part of my sandwich or fries, I don’t have to clean my plate. Or I can order smaller portion. When dining in a sit down restaurant I always slide half of my food to the side and only eat the rest. I take home the saved half. I can never eat the amount they give you anyway.

Now, the hard part, snacks! Trying to not have them in the house doesn’t work for the rest of the fam. So I try to avoid the things I like or go with something I don’t have to feel guilty about. The doughnuts, well, we will just not mention those. Instead I will try to keep cereal and Pop-tarts on hand. I won’t eat Pop-tarts and cereal is only for breakfast, or dinner when there’s only me to feed.

Now, the yarn kind, well, oops! I got the hair cut today and while on that side of town remembered to use my gift cert won at the fair. I had one for a quilt shop, which I thought had buttons, but no more. So I bought a cotton batt to use on all those un-quilted wallhangings I have pieced. Then off to the real score.

But first, I needed Wool-Ease or Encore for this baby sweater. I would use real wool, but the Mom won’t have the means to take much care with it, so the fake stuff. I dropped in JoAnns and found the colors I wanted. I just realized I bought two dark brown instead of two light brown! Oh well, back to exchange that tomorrow. Found the buttons in their clearance, score! I plan on doing I-cord trim all around, but that may fall by the wayside when it comes to it. Or maybe a closed St st band. Just want to cover the Steeked edge. Yes, of course I am steeking this baby! Hey, I could try a double button band. Never done one before, so there’s no time like the present. I also plan to add a colorwork motif around the bottom and sleeve cuffs. Who knows what I will end up with. I will likely change my mind before casting on.

Once I finished with JoAnn I ran to use my cert from KnitWitts. I dithered and dithered about what to buy. OK, wait, I actually found what I wanted to buy first thing I walked in. MMMMM Malabrigo Sock!!! In a luscious colorway!!! But, I lectured myself about the 26 skeins of fingering in my stash. So I kept looking. I finally hit upon a model that just called to me as I was petting the Plymouth Baby Alpaca Grande. Nimbus was done up in their Peruvia and was stunning. Even better than the version shown, for they had done the button along the edges, instead of offset into the band. This made for a deeper V-neck. But alas, not enough Peruvia in the color I was wanting, hunter green. So, I passed on it. And went right back to the Malabrigo after much wandering! I wasted all that time. Well, is it ever wasted when you are petting yarn?

So, now I am home and determined that I better knit all day and every day to get all these projects accomplished. I may end up at the end of the year doing 12 shawls and 12 baby items! If these nieces and cousins don’t stop having babies! I will find out Friday what to plan on for the 2nd niece’s Jan baby. Hoping it’s a girl, but ready for whatever.

Cat got your tongue?

