Posted in Rants

Oh no she didn’t!

Just go read this idiotic crap. I’ll wait. OK, got it? My rant thoughts:

It’s not the fact she slammed knitting. It’s not about any one item she slammed. It’s the fact that after all these years, feminist STILL don’t get it! Feminism should never have been about being tough, it should have been about being able to do what you wanted to do because you were capable of doing it. Being paid the same salary as a male for the same type of job. Being considered for jobs that were normally reserved for a man. But somewhere along the way, or really, right from the start, feminism became all about being men instead of women. I do not, and never will, consider myself a Feminist. I find their rhetoric and goals misplaced. They tried to stop women from doing what they wanted, by demanding they walk in lock step towards some goal.

Think about it. Why was it necessary for allย  women to become breadwinners? Why was wanting to stay home and raise your family unacceptable to them? It was if they couldn’t allow any woman to veer from the message. If you weren’t in agreement with their stance, you were discounted. They badgered men to stop treating them like women, and it got through. Now we see a society where the younger generations have not been taught how to open doors for their dates, or any woman they meet in casual, everyday life. Actually, we have a society that pretty much is rude and obnoxious in too many settings, something that can’t be laid solely at the feet of Feminists. But that’s for another day.

If being a Feminist means I can’t be the woman I WANT to be, you can have your movement. I will not have my choices dictated to me.

Now, the other issue I have with the article. Just what is the “fear of the imminent zombie-vampire-Tea Partier apocalypse” point for? She lost all credit with that jab, wait, she never had any to begin with. When will the media start reporting what the Tea Party actually stands for, fiscal responsibility?

Author:

A knitter, mom, wife and doodle lover!, but not necessarily in that order. Just ask my family, they'll tell you who comes first.

7 thoughts on “Oh no she didn’t!

  1. Apologies in advance for the super-long reply. . .

    You know, I just wrote about this topic in my journal for my English class (literally, yesterday).
    I personally don’t associate with feminists, at all, on any level, because what I’ve seen from the group as a whole is SO misguided.
    But with activism in general, it seems the cry for equality is becoming more a cry for preferential treatment. (It’s not enough to take a man’s job and have the same pay for it, I want a BETTER job and to get paid MORE for that job than a man would.) It’s like a form of punishment because of what happened IN THE PAST. (You held women down fifty years ago, so now you will do MORE for us than just give us equality!) Oh, and don’t get me started on the ones who misspell “woman” because it has the dreaded word “man” in it. The grammarian in me will go all Hulk on someone who does that!

    Anyway. I believe in chivalry. I believe it’s a polite and respectful and WONDERFUL thing to give up a seat for a woman, or pull out her chair or hold the door open for her (same goes for doing that for your elders). It’s good manners! In the very same breath, I ALSO believe that if a woman understands and enjoys math or science, nothing should stop her from going into engineering or astrophysics or neuroscience, and that she should receive every penny she deserves FOR HER CAPABILITIES — not because she has “girl bits”. And not comparing her in any way, shape or form to a man in the same field with the same experience and education.

    But I guess — according to that article, I fail at feminism. You know what? I’ll live with that and happily continue in my anti-feminist activities like knitting and raising my beautiful son. (While pursuing a degree in geology because I’m a chick who likes scrambling around rocks and using her non-manicured fingernails to dig in the dirt out in big, scary nature. I am strong enough to wield my own sledge hammer. But I guess I’m a soft, defenseless woman, still.) ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Also, judging by the TEA-Party remark, I’m going to guess the whole reason that offensive and misguided article was written was simply to stir controversy and get replies/hits. That, or she’s an awful writer who can’t stay focused on her topic. . .

    PS: (I’ll be honest, the knitting remark made me REALLY angry, on top of the rest of it. But hey, I guess crochet is a manly art!) ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. First off, I am a feminist. I became a feminist back in the ’50’s (that’s the 1950’s not my 50’s) . How I define “feminist” has changed through the years but I still feel that if the goal of the movement was to turn us into men with boobs it wasn’t worth the effort. Through the years I have met people who call themselves “feminist” who believe in things I can’t accept and a lot of younger women who seem to consider “feminist” a dirty word but when we talk they believe the same things I do. Go figure. So, I’m glad you opened the door to discussion. It can’t hurt to talk it through and see not just how close we may be but why.
    The Huffington Post piece reads like the author was more interested stirring things up than in civil discourse so I won’t comment on it.

    1. I think my biggest problem with the political and social scene today, is the way everyone has to wear a label. Instead of being a person with opinions, that vary greatly from one subject to the next, we are pigeonholed by the media and others. And sometimes these groups are all branded with the same viewpoints, even if the members don’t all think the same way. Take her crack at the “Tea Party”. In the media we hear all kinds of horrible things about the beliefs the Tea Party followers have. Most of the people I know, including myself, who believe in the movement, do so based on fiscal issues. While I hold right leaning views on abortion, I have never sensed that this issue was part of the Tea Party cry. Just as the Feminist movement might have been taken over by beliefs outside of the original intent, the Tea Party has seen some of the same. You are so right, sometimes we need to discuss the issue as a person, not a label. We will find we might be closer in thought than imagined.

  3. Oh good grief!!! What’s wrong with a woman being a woman? I like being a woman. There are tough women out there but because we choose to be treated like ladies we are discounted? She really needs to buy a vowel and get a clue. I’m right there with you Chris!

  4. My only problem with feminism as a concept is the million different definitions there are… I believe in equality, for men and women (not women beating men at their own game as some feminists seem to want). Part of that equality is having the opportunity to engage in the hobbies and activities that suit me… Knitting is one, DIY is another. Stupid article seems to think it’s all black and white.

    Also, I honestly cannot work out the idea that Sookie, aside from being fictional, is her idea of a tough woman!

Cat got your tongue?

