Knitting

Swatching for the future

Needed to be sure the plans I have for some future knits will work with the yarns I have slated. So I have pulled out the yarns and needles and will proceed to swatch. A business I usually have nothing to do with. I figure a sleeve is a perfect swatch! One project is a sweater and the other a shawl. Maybe I can be focused and finish a sweater for myself. The last one I knit myself was ages ago. I mean, ages! I have three in progress that will not get done any time soon, so why not start a new one!

Sunday ended up a lazy day. It rained off and on all day, so we ran an errand and I mostly knit all day. Our errand was to get a new set of pots and pans. Ours were horribly scratched and scraped. So we got a new T-Fal set. Looks almost exactly like our old one! LOL.

During my off and on knitting I got a project done. I remembered that I have a baby shower to attend on the 11th. Ack! So out came some chunky yarns and a size 13 needle and a snuggly was born. Christy is having a girl, so good thing I had all kinds of pink yarn on hand. I will reveal the FO on Friday, but I can show you the pattern I loosely used. Laurel Love Cocoon was an easy knit, even if I did modify it. My friends don’t think I can knit anything as written!

I knit it bottom up so I could just knit until I ran out of yarn. I increased every other row until I had 44 sts. Then I just knit, holding two strands together. When I ran out of one yarn, i added in another. Great way to use up leftovers. Then I ended up running out of the core yarn, so I finished with ribbing knit with two strands of a hairy type yarn. Very soft. I think these are the neatest idea in baby knitting. I just hope it’s usable for the little darling. She arrives next month, but who knows if it will be cool enough to need a snuggly any time soon. It measures 15.5″ long and 9.5″ wide. Hopefully it will fit through winter.

1 thought on “Swatching for the future”

Cat got your tongue?

