Knitting

Thoughts

I frogged Annis yesterday. It was not painful at all. I actually would rather frog and re-knit it into the best Annis it can be, than leave it as is. That is a mistake I often see newbies make, and one I made myself as a new knitter. It took an experienced knitter to point out to me, why settle. Why not take charge of my knitting and make it the best I could. Making do would please no one but the imp inside, who threw a fit because she didn’t want to frog all that knitting.

In the last 2 years I have had two failures at following this rule. One I gave to a friend who loved the shawl that I couldn’t stand. The other is a toddler sweater with a too small v-neck. In both cases I just didn’t care enough to rip and restart. I just wanted them off my needles. Maybe some day I will find a small headed toddler who will fit the sweater.

Deadlines. I hate em. That’s why I do not do test knitting or submit more of my original creations. I hate having to produce something on someone’s schedule. Then why do I make deadlines for myself by deciding to knit items for events that are finite? Like baby arrivals, birthday presents, etc. And my decision to make 12 shawls, one a month, this year. Which is seriously lagging. I was so rushing to finish Annis to get my shawl count up that I was ignoring the issues I was having with it. With the ripping of this shawl I have re-learned something I had forgotten. Enjoy your knitting. Don’t wish it away. Don’t set unnecessary deadlines. When it becomes a job you lose all the joy. It seems I lose this thought now and then. Here’s to keeping it in mind from here on out.

I think one of the things that has pushed this out of my mind lately is the desire to knit it all right now. I have so many wants and need to’s that I am drowning with no time and all the desire. So I have to step back and think. Not every baby needs a sweater right this minute! I won’t disappoint anyone if I don’t make 12 shawls in 12 months. I can still make the shawls for myself in 2012.

And, if I would just stop buying yarn maybe I wouldn’t have this rush to knit it all!!! How can I knit it up if I don’t stop buying it. And about that. 3 more skeins purchased today. But for a good cause. Another baby sweater, of course. My millionth version of Sirdar 1646 Bolero. And for the first time I will actually use DK yarn instead of subbing in Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino, my fav baby yarn! I am out of red and can’t make a Christmas sweater for Sophia if I don’t have red! Just hope it’s a good red.

OK, this post has been too long. Here is a shot of the One A Day progress on Shadow Shawl. And then I am out of here.

Shadow Shawl

10 thoughts on “Thoughts”

  1. I hate knitting to deadlines (including self imposed ones), so I’m with you on that front! I find that I end up resenting the knitting, spending all my time on the required project even though I like to flit about and generally stop enjoying myself. I’m also trying to stop buying yarn so I’m in less of a rush to get onto knitting something new 😉

  2. You are not the only one that does that Chris! I set limitations on myself all the time and then I don’t have any fun, it’s a bummer. I have found a dislike of huge projects. I will never again knit a baby blanket! I will attempt to make me a few things at some point. Just have to learn to make things that suit my shape instead of being something romantic and flowy that looks horrid on my body! Take a deep breath and a time out and find yourself again. Here’s to getting rid of the limitations we set on ourselves!(((HUGS)))

  3. Ripping is never easy but alway the right thing to do once you know. I’ve done it with complete sweaters that just didn’t fit the way I wanted. In the end it’s always worth it.

  4. I’m in that transitional period where I still loathe frogging and do it as an absolute last resort, but the times I’ve done it, I’ve seen what a great, liberating thing it is.

    I can’t wait to see your new-and-improved Annis. 🙂

  5. Hmmm, this post reminds me of a mantra I have at work… You get what you measure.

    So if you’re only measuring quantity, quality can suffer. But if you are focused on the quality and joy, you’ll end up with a better experience and product. The baby definately will not care if s/he doesn’t get a newborn sweater. So do what makes you happy. 🙂

    Regarding the frogging: For me it depends on what I’m making, who it is for and how big the mistake is.

  6. I’m with you on the deadline thing. My creativity cannot be rushed. Frogging is very cathartic for me and I never feel bad when I do it, especially if I use my ball winder for the task. The winder makes it so fast!

Cat got your tongue?

