Knitting

FO Friday #14

Well, it’s actually been done for over a week, but I haven’t showcased it on a FO Friday yet, so you get a sneaky FO Friday post. If you have already seen Annis, look away, go to the bottom where I show progress on Shadow and Loki. If you haven’t seen Annis yet, here she is.

Annis

I finally finished this after being done with it, and then ripping it out and starting over. I was trying to use up the full skein of yarn, and it just wasn’t happening. So the first attempt was all wrong. The second one is right, but I have 136 yds of yarn leftover. I hate leftovers! Unless I have enough to really do something with, they suck! But, I now have an idea for the leftovers, so it’s all good. I was able to take her along a few times, even able to wear it once. But the weather has been more warm than chilly here. However, the next few days are going to be chill, so time to break out the warm wraps!

Shadow Shawl

Work on the Shadow Shawl progresses, at least a bit each night. Wednesday night I came to the horrible realization that I would run out of the striping yarn way before the pattern’s mid point. Since I did not want to add in the garish blues and greens from the spliced ball I decided it was time to start the decrease. So, 21 stripes short, I turned the corner. By my calculations, instead of a 31″x74″ shawl, I may have a 27″x61″ shawl. I can live with that. It’s all about the color!

Loki II

Loki II is one sleeve short of steeking. And then two button bands and done. Only, I am not sure I have enough yarn to finish 1 sleeve and 2 button bands! I am down to the last 117 yds of brown. I so do not want to buy another skein just to finish a little bit. Argh! Cause you know, if I buy a skein and use 10 yds I will then have 187 yds of acrylic wool that I do not like to use, for something I do not need to make. Because I can’t just let it sit there. I must use it! Well, nothing I can do about it now.

Gifted the Alicia Cowl to it’s namesake last night at the golf banquet. She loves it. She loved it even before she knew what it was! She loves my hand knits. And got an idea for my Mom. Who said that she would like something like it. She’s never expressed an interest in my knitting for her. Now I have a plan. That leftover Posh from Annis? You betcha!

OK, head over to Tami’s to see what other FOs have sprung up this week. Check out Wonder Gal for fibery pursuits.

12 thoughts on “FO Friday #14”

  1. You did a beautiful job on the Annis. I’m glad you’re still happy with the Shadow Shawl even if the length isn’t quite what you had in mind — it’s too pretty to give up on 🙂

Cat got your tongue?

