Knitting

FO Friday #4

The first shawl of 2012 is done. Mocha Shawl, aka Summer Mystery Shawlette, is finito! And I am not that crazy about it. It’s a lovely pattern, it’s just me, and triangles. We don’t seem to get on very well anymore. After you go semi circle, you’ll just find triangles wanting. They are lovely and all that, but when it comes to cuddling, they just leave me flat. Now, semi circles and shawls with Faroese shaping. What huggers they are! Always willing to wrap themselves around you and hold on. Triangles always seem to be trying to slip away. You have to pin them down or hold on for dear life. I know they say if you love something you should let it go, well, I am thinking I should let triangles go from my life.

That’s not to say I am planning to get rid of any of the triangles already in my life, just not going to take on anymore of them. I have enough of them now, it’s time to open my life up to another style. Diversify, yeah, that’s the ticket.

OK, here is the loveliness that is SMS

Even when pinned to within an inch of it’s life, it wouldn’t give up the points. Oh well, Not that big of a deal. As you can see, it falls off the blocking board. I added 48 more sts to the count. What you can’t tell from the blocking photo is how the center top doesn’t really fall in a straight line. That’s the biggest thing I don’t like about triangles. The line across the top edge is misshapen. I prefer a curve around the neck. Which is why I have deleted almost all the triangle shawl patterns from my queue and have only kept the shaped ones. Trolling patterns last night and today added more than I deleted from the list! I think I am up to 17 shawl patterns marked. It will be no problem finding 10 more to knit during 2012. Of course the one I am working on now is a triangle, but it’s going to be gifted, so it won’t impact my life.

Just trying to figure out how to wear them is a struggle. I have SMS on with it hanging down the back and tied in the front. Thank goodness I did make it bigger. I doubt it would have tied with the smaller size.

So, this one is not going to be my favorite shawl, but I will wear it since I have a lot of brown in my wardrobe. And I will just have to find a favorite way to wear it. Or make good use of all of those shawl pins, brooches, sticks I have.

I do love the Yarn Daze Farm Collection I got at Atkinson Farm Yarns. It;s a bit wearing on the fingers while knitting, but it is sooo soft when soaked.

Now, head over to Tami’s to see if others are happy or sad with their FOs this week.

8 thoughts on “FO Friday #4”

  1. Your shawl is gorgeous. I love the color too. You aren’t the only person to say that about triangular shawls. I’ve always had a problem with where they point if you know what I mean:)

  2. I love the shawl!!!! I find I had the same problem with the only shawl I’ve made (the top edge being weird) and I’m genuinely thinking of trying a non-triangle shawl for my next one. . . Whenever I get around to it.

  3. Your shawl is lovely! I get what you say about triangle shawls. I’ve been going for crescent shape lately, and they are usually small enough to wear under a jacket.

Cat got your tongue?

