Posted in FO Friday

FO Friday

of the non fibery type.

Many of you know that tonight is the big night for my daughter. She is graduating high school and headed off to college in a few months. This is such a bittersweet time for us. The past two weeks have been busy with preparation and events. And now, the big event is finally here. Do I have a FO? Well, not yet, it’s still hours away. But this is the prep so far.

DSCN1389
New shirt, old shirt, photos, and golf balls
DSCN1390
Senior photo
DSCN1391
Acceptance letter, scholarships, and Senior event programs
DSCN1396
Dessert table waiting for deserts!
DSCN1398
Prom, Winter Dance, her artwork and pottery
DSCN1399
This artwork is the taillight on her Jeep
DSCN1401
Her unfinished blanket. I would say I was soooo close, but there is still several nights of knitting

Thursday night the house smelled heavenly of smoked ham and green beans. Trying to prepare as much ahead of time as possible. Today is for getting tent, tables, and chairs set up, last minute run for buns and bread, and fixing pork butts and potato casseroles. 3:00 Graduation practice and then party at 6:00. Will we make it? Who knows.

One thing I can’t show here is the slideshow I prepared on iPhoto. Tear Jerker! I have already started getting emotional. At Class Day on Tuesday the Seniors file out and the Juniors file in. The Seniors ring the upper tier of the basketball stadium. Then they sing the fight song. That’s when I lost it. Her last time to officially sing her song. I am sure I will really lose it Saturday at graduation. So hard to believe she is so grown up! From this

1st year to this Almost grown

Congratulations Caters! We love you and are so proud of you.

Now, check out those who really have finished something. And check back here on Wednesday and Friday. Hopefully I have returned to the weekly updates by then. And just maybe, that blanket will be done!

Author:

A knitter, mom, wife and doodle lover!, but not necessarily in that order. Just ask my family, they'll tell you who comes first.

12 thoughts on “FO Friday

  1. This is so emotional ! And you’re so organised ! Here there’s no such thing as graduation parties, it’s so cold and anonymous… you just check if your name is on the right list, you grab a paper stating you graduated, and that’s it… no parents crying, no speech, nothing !

  2. Mine just graduated last week, I’m feeling you! She’s off to Iowa for a month now. Have a wonderful time and take lots of pictures!!!

  3. You have worked so hard to give your daughter such a nice graduation – I am sure everything will be great and she will remember it forever.

  4. I got teary reading this post. We know that being a mom is never finished, but you have done a great job. You should be so proud.

  5. Congratulations! Personally, I get a huge lump in my throat whenever I hear Pomp and Circumstance, it’s sort of a musical time machine, taking me back to graduations, always so exciting, hopeful and just a little scary. Hope you enjoyed the recipe! Thanks for reading and commenting.

  6. What a lot of effort you have out into making this day so special for your daughter. My kids look more like the “before” photo of your girl. It’s hard to believe they will ever get so big!

  7. My oldest is headed to 6th grade next year. This is the 1/2 way mark between K & 12! I can’t believe how fast it’s gone. Congrats to your College Bound Girl!

Cat got your tongue?

