Posted in Knitting

Twas the FO before Christmas…..

…and all through blogland,
I, the blogger, am knitting, as fast as I can.
The stockings were knitted, quilted, store bought, with care,
in hopes that my family would lovingly stare.
The children were nestled, all snug in their beds,
while I was downstairs, banging my head.
While I knitted on Bandanas (kerchiefs) and slouchy caps,
it would be a long night with not even a nap!
When on the stairs there arose such a clatter,
I sprang from my knitting spot to see what was the matter.
Away to the staircase I flew like a flash,
tripped over Dear Husband and landed, spa-lat!
The light on the crest of my now fallen yarn,
made me suck in my breath and then utter “darn!”
When what to my wandering eyes should appear,
a pile oh so lovely, but something was weird.
Why, my little old Hubster, was under the pile,
I knew in a moment he would be cussing so vile.
More rapid than eagles his cuss words they came,
then he picked up some yarn, and he called it by name.
“&^$#% Noro, *&^#$ Berroco, you tripped me up good,
*(%$# Cascade, @#%^$ Paton’s, now I’m in a bad mood.
From the top of the stairs to the bottom is far,
it’s caused me some pain and my joints are ajar.”
As dye leaves into dye pots make colors divine,
when I see them in shops I just cannot decline.
So up to the register I fly with my stash,
pull out my wallet and hand over my cash.
And then in a twinkling my sleigh brings me home,
my goodies I stash while Dear Hubster is gone.
But sometimes the skeins seem to wander and roam,
and cause tripping, slipping and sliding to some.
So now I am grounded and cannot buy more,
’til my stash is contained behind a closet door.

OK, pretty lame, I know. If you made it this far you get the bonus of seeing the latest FOs. Aren’t you thrilled? So, first up:

red hat christmas

The shop I knit at with my weekly group had a charity hat basket where you could take a skein of yarn and then return a knit hat. They had the pattern provided too, so all you needed to do was supply labor. These will go to a local hospital’s maternity ward to hand out to all babies born around Christmas time. Took a day to knit, so very little effort for such a fun project.

To the right in the picutre is my favorite nut mix for the season. One container of salted peanuts, one container of honey roasted peanuts, one container sweet and crunchy (getting harder to find) peanuts, one large bag of red/green M&Ms. Mix together and pour into decorative containers. Sweet and salty!

And the next bonus for lasting through the poem is this quick cowl for my Aunt. She asked for a cowl at Thanksgiving, one not too close around the neck or too deep in depth. I found this diagonal pattern and went to town. Another quick knit, maybe day and a half? It actually was gifted to her on her birthday. Perfect timing for her request.

image image

The yarn is Ella Rae Classic Heather in a soft taupe. The diagonal rib lends itself to an elegant look, a perfect pattern for a classy color. I showed her several ways to drape it for different looks. She loves it!

Pattern: Cast on multiples of 4, in 2×2 ribbing. I used 88 based on yarn and size wanted. Rounds 1 & 2: *Knit 2, Purl 2*. Rounds 3 & 4: Knit 1, Purl 2, *Knit 2,  Purl 2*, Knit 1. Rounds 5 & 6: *Purl 2, Knit 2*. Rounds 7 & 8: Purl 1, Knit 2, *Purl 2, Knit 2*, Purl 1. Repeat these 8 rounds until you have the depth you want. Bind off in 2×2 ribbing.

Now, are you finishing last minute items? Did you even try to knit for Christmas? I never plan to, but always end up doing something for someone. We’ll see if this last week before Christmas yields any last minute knit items. Until next time, check with Tami and Wonder to see wat everyone else is FO’ing this week!

Author:

A knitter, mom, wife and doodle lover!, but not necessarily in that order. Just ask my family, they'll tell you who comes first.

2 thoughts on “Twas the FO before Christmas…..

  1. Lovely hat and cowl!
    You’re so clever with the poem:)
    I do not knit for Christmas, ever. Deadline knitting makes me cast on lots of things but not work on what needs to be done.

Cat got your tongue?

