Knitting

January 2014 Recap

January sped through like a bat on wheels. Is that even a thing? Anyhoo, here is a quick recap of my attempts to knit down stash and crank out some knits. I think it was a good month, well, it could have been better, but overall, good.

I started the year with 73,472 yards and 419 skeins. After one month I have 72,726 yards and 414 skeins. Not too bad. Now, the truth.

I have 2165 yards and 11 skeins less yarn this month. 2051/10 was knit, 114/1 was donated.
I bought 1095 yards and 5 skeins of yarn this month.
Difference is: 1070 yards and 6 skeins more output than input.

Whew! A great start to working down the stash. Hopefully I can keep that up. And since it is the first month, that is also my YTD totals.

All of that knitting produced 1 sweater (half of which was knit in 2013), 4 cowls, and 3 hats. Wanna see em’? Here you go!

Fotor020180555

My favorite item of the month is the brown Reindeer hat. I better like it, I am getting ready to make 2 more for the great-nephews! Hopefully I won’t have to buy more yarn! But, with a half knit sleep sack for the soon to be great-niece, I have to buy at least one skein in February! Oh well, it’s for a great cause. And actually, I have a gift card from my birthday for the shop where we knit each week, so at least some stash enhancement will take place. Yippee!!! No idea what I want to get for myself. I may have to pet some skeins.

Now, to set some goals for February. First off, finish a UFO. I have two active ones, wait, can a UFO be active? I am close to finishing the tam I am working on, so it is the obvious choice. On the crown decreases. Then I want to finish the sleep sack for Camdyn. I plan to start an Autumn Blush Shawl with some of my Maine yarn, the Malabrigo Arroyo. I want to make a Zuzu’s Petals Cowl for a kind friend. And would love to start on another sweater for me. Many options, so I may draw straws to determine which one. I would love to do the Darrowby from Knitty, but need to read through the other projects completed since I have heard rumblings of horrible pattern numbers. Or I could do Collins. Just love shawl collars!!! Either one, I have 2200 yards of brown tweed from Paton’s to use, and would love whichever one.

9 thoughts on “January 2014 Recap”

Cat got your tongue?

