Posted in Knitting

Friday FO for Waning Winter

I hope it’s waning, although I am really not too upset by its lingering. I love colder weather, so it’s all good. But I do enjoy the longer days, so there is that to look forward to. But not the hot temps, wishing we can have a mild Spring and Summer, but knowing Indiana weather, it will be 80 degrees within a short time. Oh, and 100% humidity to boot.

But that’s all for another day, today is for FO’s! And I am so happy to say I finally have this one FO’d! Autumn Blush started in Winter in dark tones was not a fun knit. The rows messed me up half the time, no matter how hard I tried to keep them straight. OK, so maybe I was distracted by TV, Netflix, Hockey, and other things. Usually I caught the mistakes, but a few I just had to live with. I was not willing to rip any more than I already did! Having ripped back to past midway I was just ready to be done. In the long run I don’t think the mistakes are all that noticeable. At least that’s what I tell myself.

Waning Winter 1Waning Winter 2

I grabbed a lighter blue shirt so the shawl didn’t blend with it, but maybe I should have found something that blended a little better than this doesn’t. LOL. Disclaimer, Jewel, the dress form, doesn’t have shoulders, of which I have plenty, so the shawl fits a lot looser on her. But I am pleased with the drape on the shawl. It is 60″x24″ resting and can easily give to accommodate any circumference. Not that mine is all that much larger than Jewel’s, at least in MY mind it isn’t.

Waning Winter 3

Close up of the Double Seed Stitch border, which I love the look of, but hate the knitting of! It was sometimes too dark to see which st I was supposed to be doing, so I would get off track often. And those picots!!! Every 4th row!!! And again, often missed so I would have to rip back. Argh!! Can you say inattentive much?

But that’s all behind me, and now it’s time to focus on the next shawl. And there will be one since I have way too much shawl yarn to use up! If you haven’t offered an opinion yet, please go to yesterday’s post and add your 2 cents. I would appreciate any and all thoughts.

And then check out the finishes at the following host blogs. I am sure there are loads of bloggers wishing for their winter to wane!
Wisdom Begins in Wonder
Tami’s Amis
Natural Suburbia

Author:

A knitter, mom, wife and doodle lover!, but not necessarily in that order. Just ask my family, they'll tell you who comes first.

14 thoughts on “Friday FO for Waning Winter

  1. That looks great – a really good match of pattern and yarn, although it sounds like both were challenging to work with! But it looks very wearable and warm, just what you need while there’s still a chill in the air 🙂

  2. Your Autumn Blush is wonderful – I think you are being too hard on yourself – all of us do that because we are so close to every little stitch we knit. What we call mistakes Kaffe Fassett calls “Design Elements”

    1. Carol, when teaching students about knitting I call them design features too, but that’s to keep them positive with their knitting. However, it exasperates me when I am the one making the mistakes. LOL!

  3. Looks lovely! I too am one of those bloggers waiting for winter to end. Sigh. I cant wait for 80+ temps but the high humidity (NYC gets very high humidity too) I can live without.

Cat got your tongue?

