Knitting

WIP Wednesday

This weeks progress is on a baby blanket I am making for the GNTB (Great Niece To Be). She won’t make her appearance until July, but I want to have this ready in case there is a gift giving event in the near future. I don’t know that they are going to have a shower since this is her 2nd, but who knows, they might have a baby girl gift giving event since her first was a boy.

GNTB
Baby soft colors

I just love the color combo! Even though I am not a pastel person, these do appeal to me, not sure why the pink is so bright in this pic, it really is a rather soft shade IRL. Maybe it’s the turquoise with the gray and pink that does it for me? Brightens up those pastel shades. This is great knitting for watching Netflix in the evening. The colors are easy to see in dim light, better than the last two FOs I have worked on. So it’s relegated to home knitting. Plus it is quickly becoming too big to take along. So when I am out the soon to be cast on shawl and the latest sweater are tag alongs. As to the shawl, I am planning on using these skeins for the Sunday Sunrise Shawl.

yarn for Sunrise
More my color range!

I think I will start with the lighter skein at the top and then close to the middle start alternating the colors until I finish out with the darker skein at the bottom. They have similar shades between the two that I am hoping tie it all together. To try this out I am going to practice the lace pattern over a few repeats before I actually cast on the project.

So, what are you working on? Big, small, quick, slow? For you, a niece, a mother, a child? Right now I want it all to be for me!! I am getting selfish, but I know I will still knit more for others than myself again this year. The odds are already against me. 19 items done and only 4 for me. Hey, that’s the same as last year at this point. So I am keeping pace with 2013. But then, I only ended up knitting myself 9 items out of 51 knit last year!! I gotta work on that. And today’s a great day to start!

Now go see what others are making at Tami’s Amis.

5 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday”

  1. Chris-that blanket is beautiful! Those colors look like they are floating above the gray. I’m sure that it will be much loved. Your shawl is going to be lovely! Those two balls blend together so well. I can’t wait to see it finished!
    As for what I am working on, still on two tank tops, both are making good progress. The Noro one I have started on the top portion and switched to a light gray yarn, I am about to split for the back and front and arm holes. The second I am still working on the body, it’s a quick knit so I am sure to have both finished by the time I go to the beach. I still have a couple of more weeks to wait for the yarn I ordered so I am anxious for it to arrive so I can get started on my other projects. Hope you have a great week!

  2. Love that blanket. I usually stay away from knitting blankets due to fear of boredom; but definitely the colors add some interest. Can’t wait to see more pics of your shawl! Have a great week!

  3. There is a neat optical illusion going on with that blanket … looks like the bright colors are knitted on top of the gray! And I love the colors for your shawl, I look forward to seeing that started.

Cat got your tongue?

