Knitting

Mid-May Recap

Stash Confession: I was doing sooooo good! And then three things happened. I baby-sat a dog and her momma tried to pay me, I tried to decline, and she insisted telling me “buy some yarn”. Then, I got an email telling me our weekly knitting location was having a 20% off regular priced yarn sale until Saturday. Hmm. And then, I went to knitting yesterday. Nuff said.

Yardage Knit:  570 yards and 2 skeins
Yardage Bought: 785 yards and 6 skeins
I need to catch up to that bought total! And that’s totally doable as long as I don’t, what, “buy more yarn”!!! You would think I have that ingrained in my head by now?

May Goals?

1. Finish Niece’s Wedding Shawl.         DONE!!!!!
2. Work on the Fire Breathing Dragon Shawl I started before starting the NWS. On the lace rows, so close.
3. Charity hats, I mean it! Yeah, not a one, but there’s still many days left in May.
4. 1 free pass to start a new shawl after I finish the NWS. Eager to cast on, still trying to decide which one.

Now to get back to those goals.

Here’s the loot:

Fiddlehead jasper

On the left: Noro Silk Garden Light for a pair of Fiddlehead Mittens, with something soft and fingering from my stash for the liner. Will likely spit splice out the purple so that all you see are autumn colors. I am hoping the dark green Ella Rae Classic is a good contrast. Was trying to go with a brown, but they just didn’t have the right hue.

 On the right: Berroco Jasper, a luscious, soft wool, destined to be a cowl for coziness.

*Mom update. I guess she was still a little loopy from the colonoscopy yesterday when I talked to her, some things didn’t make sense. Today she had a clearer understanding of what she is facing. They did do a biopsy so we are waiting for the results from that. The Dr pretty much suspects it’s cancer, but still no idea what stage. They are doing a CT scan on Monday and will discuss with her the results on June 2nd. Considering the time frame I am hoping they aren’t too worried about the issue. But still, the C word is scary no matter the prognosis.

4 thoughts on “Mid-May Recap”

  1. Hugs sweetie! I faced the c word with my brother and for a day I was kinda hysterical. After all, it’s my baby brother and we are close. I talked to a friend of mine and she basically gave me a slap upside the head, Jethro style. She said ” Stop it! If you are going to be this way you are not trusting in God to take care of him. You do believe don’t you?” After that day I sucked it up and prayed my butt off, along with quite a few of my friends. He beat it even though he was stage 4. When I went through everything with Mitch, I didn’t become hysterical. Not to say I didn’t cry when I knew the truth of what was going on but every day if I couldn’t pray anything else, I said ” Thank You Lord”. Made all the difference. I am praying for you and your family and will continue to do so. Love you girl!

  2. I am wishing your mother and you my best. I really hope everything will be okay.

    If ever there were a time to fall off the “No Yarn Wagon” now is the time, how can one say no, when someone says, “Buy Yarn.” I wish I got that more from my family, ha! The colors are really lovely. Happy Knitting!

  3. I’ll continue good thoughts and prayers for you all.

    The yarn you bought was well worth breaking the no buying yarn rule. You’ll eventually knit most of it I’m sure:)

Cat got your tongue?

