Posted in Knitting

Friday Finishes

It never ceases to amaze me when I get a string of FOs happening after a drought of not. But when you work on multiple things over the course of the month you end up feast or famine. Today’s FO is a shawl that I modified from a triangle to a crescent style. Not sure it’s big enough, but it’ll have to do since I am not able to make it larger. With these short sock skeins that were more prevalent in my early knitting days, before I knit shawls, it’s just what you get.

The yarn is a long held skein of Fleece Artist Sock, maybe Merino, maybe I don’t know. Long since lost the ball bands. I used one skein to make my Sunset Shawl. So I figured I might as well just make something with the other ball. They were close in tones, but not a good blend to use together.

So I now give you Fire Breathing Dragon Shawl. The shawl is Dragonfly Wings, but I’m more into Dragons, then the fly versions. I eliminated the center stitches which made the triangle shape. I used Citron as a guide to make the half pi/crescent shape. Once I got to that magic number for the lace repeats I started in on the chart. I was lucky enough to have about 4 grams left over at the end. Usually I am stealing yarn to bind off, which just may have made this skein shorter since I used some of it to cast off Sunset! LOL

FBD 1 FBD3

The photo on the left shows the detail a little better, the photo on the right shows the color better. With Mom’s stint in the hospital*, and cloudy days, I haven’t been able to get a daylight shot yet.

Wish I could say I love the shawl, but I am kind of “meh” about it. I guess I need to actually try it on to see how much I like it. But it does go with quite a bit in my wardrobe since I love Autumn colors.

Now, on to the next shawl, but after I do some baby knitting. I searched and searched for a pattern and decided on Multnomah. Yes, a very late bandwagoner. But, I am going to convert it to a crescent. LOL! I think. I have 400 yds of Blue Ridge Bambie from our trip to Maine last year, so it will be souvenir knitting during the first week in June. How I wish I was going back there this June!!! I love Maine!

OK, you know who to hit up.
Wisdom Begins in Wonder
Natural Suburbia

*She came through the surgery wonderfully. The Dr said it was text book perfect. When she was in recovery we sent College Girl back with Dad to talk to the Dr. She is pre-med and went through a med program during high school. She understands it all better than us med challenged idiots. Dr says a week in the hospital and then she will be home. We should know the pathology by Monday, which will show what Stage it was. We are hoping for Stage 1!!! And the Dr seems fairly confident that’s what it will be. Thank you all so much for the prayers. I teared up a few times, but as I was driving home with Hubster behind me I finally lost it and just sobbed. Relief, anxiety, fear, all just washed out of me. By the time I got home I was drained. And all I did was sit and wait! She, on the other hand, evidently was loopy from the meds. CG was relaying the silly things mom was imagining. LOL. Now to pack my knitting back to the hospital tomorrow. I might just get this baby sweater done before the Sprinkle(2nd baby shower) on Sunday.

Author:

A knitter, mom, wife and doodle lover!, but not necessarily in that order. Just ask my family, they'll tell you who comes first.

9 thoughts on “Friday Finishes

  1. I’m glad to hear that your Mom came through her surgery well. Best wishes for a quick recovery for her.

  2. The shawl is lovely. Beautiful autumn colors are my favorite, too. I love the conversion to a crescent shape. Continued prays for your mom. That will be good news if she is in stage one. The hardest part is the waiting and not knowing.

Cat got your tongue?

