Posted in Knitting

August 23rd? Well almost the 24th now.

It’s August 23rd already? Can we just stop time a bit please!!! I am falling so far behind I don’t know that I can ever make it up. But wait, am I really?

Let’s talk artificial deadlines. Those pesky timelines we draw on our life line. Arbitrary and nonsense when we finally stop and think about what they are. Self imposed most of the time, and not something we need to be stressed about.

For me the deadlines are set by the arrival of babies. All these babies being born right now!!! 2 in the family so far this year, one more on the way, and then a friend’s grandbaby due any day now. All of them deserve hand knit gifts. And so far 3 of the 4 have received them. But the great-nephew’s blanket needs to be done by October. And the baby due any day now needs a sweater and a hat. Forget that the current temps are in the 90’s and the humidity takes it into heat advisory levels.

See what I mean, arbitrary deadlines. The great-nephew has a sweater already, one that can’t be used anytime soon since he isn’t due until October! Even the baby due any day now has no need of the sweater planned for him. But I hate to not have the items ready BEFORE the sweet babes arrive.

STOP! BREATHE! RELAX! It will all get done. The blanket is already almost a 1/3rd done and the sweater and hat will take no time.

IMG_4291

OK, the other deadlines I am struggling with. Bazaar items to sell each week. Gah! I have had a hard time finding crafting time lately*. Soccer games, school starting, College Girl going back to college. There has been something almost every day for the last 2 weeks! But I need to craft! I keep feeling the need to produce more or new items to get merchandise out of my holding. Gotta keep the inventory looking new and fresh. But the things I have had from the start that aren’t selling are weighing me down. If I still have too many of them at the end of August I might just have a fire sell at the Bazaar the last 2 weeks. LOL!

And then, headbands and bow making has taken hold. I don’t need another craft! But I do love creating things and these are quick to whip out when I have a chance.

Bow Red

Bows 2 Bows1

IMG_4286

The last one is a new to me technique that I am trying to master. This is using 3/8″ double satin ribbon. I will go up to 5/8″ or 7/8″ for the next one and make it fuller. I could have cut these shorter lengths and gotten more to make it fuller, but first time for the attempt wasn’t too bad. A button with the shank removed makes a great finishing detail. Now to determine if I want it on the red headband.

OK, I am done reliving my stress. Add to this a run up to college to drop off College Girl, then a run 2 hours south to wait a football game that didn’t happen, and then finally 3 hours later, and after major storms, we drove home only to hit more storms. By the time we arrived home, at midnight, I was done for! But got up at 6:30 am to prepare for the Bazaar. I must be crazy!!!

*Hopefully that will change as I want to redo the room College Girl just vacated. I am thinking sewing, crafting, knitting storage room!!

Author:

A knitter, mom, wife and doodle lover!, but not necessarily in that order. Just ask my family, they'll tell you who comes first.

3 thoughts on “August 23rd? Well almost the 24th now.

  1. I have gotten the youngest set up in her sister’s room. Still have to get her a bit organized though. I have to empty out my “new” craft room and paint it and then I’ll be putting my stuff in the room. I still haven’t gotten my bathroom painted either. I seem to be over whelmed lately. Between job issues and every thing else…. I hope you sell everything at your bazaar. Have a great week!

  2. You crack me up with your having a hard time finding time to knit. Look at all you do, with the school and soccer starting! Sheesh! The blanket is looking good. I have never done chevron before. It’s inviting!

Cat got your tongue?

