Posted in Knitting

Some knitting is happening…

…among the daily travails. Not only is Diva Girl dealing with the medical issue I spoke about last week*, she also took a spill down the stairs. Rushing in socks on wood stairs with laundry basket in hand. Feet went out from under her and down she went on her left elbow. Two hours later we were sure it was broken. But a trip to the Ortho ER showed no break. Thank you God! (My original post made it read like my Mom fell down the stairs, it was DG who fell down the stairs.)

Then by the end of that day Hubster was in the throes of a nasty head cold. Three days later he was finally recovering, but Diva Girl and I came down with it. So we are currently in our 2nd day of the nasty stuff and just wishing for relief from the coughing!

Before all that I was going strong on the knitting, but this weekend the fun of hanging with friends, and the trials, put paid to that. I finally finished 10 rows of knitting on the last sleeve of a baby sweater in time to gift it to the grand-mother, my knitting bud, today at knitting. We were able to find some buttons we liked and I sewed them on before we left. But I did admonish her to wash the sweater and let it block before gifting it. She is going to take the leftover yarn from the sweater and Eli’s Blanket to make a matching hat for her grand-baby, Kellan. Such a cute name!

Kellan 1  Kellan 2

In case the photos aren’t loading, Kellan front and Kellan back.

I used Berroco Vintage Worsted for the sweater. Such a nice yarn and easy care. Perfect for baby things. I have 4 skeins in 3 colors to play with for another boy item. Olive, Dark Teal, and Plum Purple. And just maybe the perfect pattern for the 3 colors?

So I am hoping tomorrow will give me focus and I can restart the shawl I was attempting to knit before all this baby knitting took hold. In picking it up today after the sweater finish I looked the pattern again and saw that was doing a 2 row repeat instead of a 4 row repeat!!! Hmm, seems I do a lot of that lately. Back to the drawing board on that. Not sure if I will restart the one I was doing or change it up. We’ll see. May have to just cast on something else. Maybe Miss Dashwood with the Tosh I bought to make it with? Just maybe, have to wind it, so we’ll see.

*My Mom told me the other day she had severe endometriosis they found when they did surgery on her.

Author:

A knitter, mom, wife and doodle lover!, but not necessarily in that order. Just ask my family, they'll tell you who comes first.

7 thoughts on “Some knitting is happening…

  1. Glad to see you are getting knitting in. How is your daughter? Very glad your mom didn’t break her elbow. I have put aside my shawl to try to finish up my sweater so I can wear it to SAFF next weekend. There is no way the shawl is going to be done in time, it takes too much time to do one section and with me not being good at lace and chart reading… Sit down have a cuppa and take a breath and begin again. HUGS sweetie!

  2. So glad your mom didn’t have a break. My goodness! Colds seem to be going around lately. I love the little sweater. I’d love to make one for myself in my size! It looks so comfortable.

  3. Oh it sounds like there have been some things to weather lately in your family. I wish you all good health and quick recovery from your ailments. I love your sweater and I am a fan of the Vintage Worsted for all the reasons you mentioned. Love the color on this sweater. Super cute 🙂

  4. Gosh, hugs to you and DG! Hope that you both feel better soon. Wish I could virtually send you some of my homemade chicken & dumplings. At least you were able to finish that adorable sweater. I love how cute little baby boys look in grandpa sweaters.

Cat got your tongue?

