Knitting

Inspiration Saturday

is2

Two things of inspiration today. The first one comes from Woolen’s blog. At the end of the post she talks about choosing a word for the new year. And not to be a copy-cat, but her 2nd choice was perfect. Enough. I am sure this word can mean different things to different people. I choose this word to mean: whatever I accomplish each month is enough. No matter if I am short of, reaching, or surpassing the totals I had last year, in 2013, or 2012. It doesn’t matter. Those totals are just what was accomplished in those years. Those months, days, weeks, were a different time. There were different things going on and my life was in a different place. So I will not worry if I am knitting enough in the coming months. I will just knit. I will just be.

The second piece of inspiration is the Love Your Library Challenge.

love-logo2_big

I started this last month and plan to continue it into the new year. I really want to cut down on my yarn purchasing and I think going to my library and choosing the patterns I purchased, along with the yarn I bought to make it, will help that goal. Now, the exception to this plan is the fact that I have money to use at 2 yarn shops, so patterns or yarn acquired with these monies are allowed. And I have 3 items that were promised prior to 2015, so they are a priority in the coming months.

I will not document the entire year right now, but I will try to stay ahead of it each month. So to start the year out I will choose one pattern for Jan-March. As the months go by I will add things as the mood and time allows.

January-Mrs Dashwood by Paulina Popiolek

I have two skeins of luscious Madelintosh Tosh Sport in a dove blue to make this for myself. CAN. NOT. WAIT. to cast this on. This is my birthday present to myself. Hmm, maybe I will cast it on Jan 9th, the Silver anniversary of my 29th birthday. LOL

February-Lin-Lin by Yoko Johnston

I do have yarn that I can use for this, or I can use my gift cards for the purchase of yarn during my birthday month discount at my LYS. I have Suri Merino from Plymouth in the stash, but just need to determine if the Suri has enough structure for the pattern.

March-Fench Cancan by Mademoiselle C

This one will likely have to use yarn purchased with my gift certificates to my LYS. I have DKs in the stash, but they are all variegated yarns. Not going to work with this cable and lace pattern. So I will put that on my list for shopping with my birthday discount!! Can you tell my birthday is coming up? LOL.

Now, tell me, how are you being inspired with your knitting today?

 

3 thoughts on “Inspiration Saturday”

  1. I’m doing the library challenge too! I will be starting with a Clara Parkes book….That Mrs. Dashwood is going to be gorgeous! I can’t wait to see it!

  2. Sounds like a great plan! Enough. I love that. 🙂 Looking forward to seeing all the pretty things you make. I am still working on the same cowl I began when I got sick. I have knit, frogged and reknit it…I might just put it down for a little while. 🙂

    Wishing you a lovely day.

  3. I’m so happy you like the word idea, I think it’s really helpful! I like your plan for the next few months, I’m working on my own and French Cancan is on my list, too! That Miss Dashwood is GORGEOUS!

Cat got your tongue?

