Posted in Knitting

Love Your Library, vol. 5

love-logo2_big

This month Snapdragon has provided us a prompt for the challenge:

February: Let’s Get Organized! Whatever this means for you: putting printed patterns in folders/binders, updating your Ravelry library, organizing your electronic copies of patterns that are stored off-Ravelry. I know I’d use my library more if I had a better record of everything in it.

I have mine fairly well organized. This past summer when I redid a spare bedroom into my sewing room I did a fairly comprehensive purge of patterns and books. But once I moved them into the room I was fairly willy nilly about their residences. Some are in binders on the bookshelf. Some are books in baskets. The magazines are grouped together. So what’s there to organize?

A better system of storing like items together. It makes no sense to have baby pattern books scattered among accessory books. And having pattern leaflets among the magazines is not a good grouping. So I will endeavor to house things in categories and place them in a certain basket, shelf, or binder. The binders are fairly set, but the accessories and shawls are in need of a fixing.

So while I do that I will recap my January goals and then document my February goals.

January:
French Cancan from a pattern purchased in 2014. Had the thing almost done when I realized the needle was the wrong size. Ripped out and restarted, but not enough time to finish.
Ava Beret from a Petite Purls pattern bookmarked ages ago. Just love the pattern. Cast on in the waning days of January for a February baby and her big sis. 1 done, 1 to go.
American Girl Doll Outfit was a hold over from 2014 when I took on the task of finishing some clothes my aunt was unable to make before she passed away.

February:
Finish French Cancan
Cast on Miss Dashwood for me with pattern purchased in late 2014.
Finish second Ava Beret
Find a baby item in my library for a late February shower gift

That should about do it for the concrete plans. Of course I will always keep things fluid for last minute ideas or sparks of interest.

Author:

A knitter, mom, wife and doodle lover!, but not necessarily in that order. Just ask my family, they'll tell you who comes first.

Cat got your tongue?

