Knitting

Stitch Along Wednesday #5

SAW
Click the photo to get to the party!

I have been making progress, but most of that will have to wait for a Friday reveal. But here’s is where I am at with the two active projects I have going.

image

A special request bag was sewn last week for a knitting friend. The reddish, actually red-violet, skein is just cast on for another Ava Beret. the blue is my 2nd attempt at French Cancan.

The next two photos show the difference between following instructions and then going off the range. I have 2 Ava Berets already done. That’s why French Cancan is in the same state since 2 weeks ago.

image image

The one on the left shows how it comes out when you change colors every 2 rows, which is not how the pattern is written. But it does use the needle size and yarn as written. The photo on the right shows the correct yarn sequence, every other row change, but is two strands held together with the needle size as written.

The left fabric is very flimsy and the hat grew big enough to fit my head, even though as written it should have been child sized. The fabric on the left is denser and is a much more pleasing warmth, and did not grow much at all with blocking.

So, mistake on the first hat demanded a redo, but the lessons learned resulted in a better product for me.

This is the issue that irritates me every time. I used the correct needles, yarn that was very similar to the original, Koigu, and it gave me a product that looks nothing like the photo. Understanding my mistake is the reason it doesn’t match in looks, I am talking about fit. My gauge was very close to the pattern, only difference was in row gauge. And I must say, I rarely ever get row and st gauge at the same time. This phenom eludes me. But I always go for st gauge since rows can be altered on a hat with little effort. It’s just on the decreases it could be an issue.

It just amazes me that people can use the same needle and yarn size and get totally different gauges. I wonder if picking or throwing has a lot to do with it? I know, from teaching, that some people have a death grip on the yarn and needles and tend to loosen up as they become more proficient. But I would assume that someone who is able to write patterns is fairly proficient in knitting and is not a beginner.

Oh well, the hat is not a loss. It will fit someone who has a large noggin! Or I can run some elastic through the band and snug it up to fit someone.

Now tell us how you are winning or losing in this game we call crafting!

3 thoughts on “Stitch Along Wednesday #5”

  1. What I think is part of it, too, is that stitch gauge can be the same while the characteristics of the fabric can be different. I can get a gauge of 5 sts/inch with DK weight or with Worsted weight yarn, but the fabric will have very different characteristics with each (worsted will be solid, DK will probably be loose and flimsy). Same with different fiber types, different twists in yarn, different number of plies, etc. It’s fascinating stuff! For what it’s worth, the fabric on the right looks lovely.

    1. Absolutely. While I love the fabric a US5 needle gives with fingering in a shawl, I should have known I was not going to like it in a hat. But I was assuming the Brioche, knit 1 below, stitch might have an effect on the fabric. Apparently in my case, no.

  2. I’ve been seriously knitting for 10 years now (I learned when I was 4 though) and I my gauge has always been on the loose side. Even with plastic needles and acrylic yarn when I was a beginner. My sister-in-law has had near perfect gauge right from the getgo – so I think it all depends on the person.

Cat got your tongue?

