Knitting

Love Your Library, vol. 6

love-logo2_big
Click the pic to see what others are loving

February’s prompt is:
putting printed patterns in folders/binders, updating your Ravelry library, organizing your electronic copies of patterns that are stored off-Ravelry. I know I’d use my library more if I had a better record of everything in it.

image image image
I have done so much destashing of books through the years I don’t really have that much to manage anymore.

But I went up to my craft room determined to get it in order. Even though my pattern library is already fairly organized, a recent craft room move has gotten items just placed in random spots. So I decided to get things a bit more neat and tidy. And ended up redoing my stash. Huh?

I have been accumulating new stuff, not restashing other things, and leaving leftovers all over the place. So it was imperative to get the yarn in control so I could work on the library.

I now have all my yarn categorized by weight in 5 different Iris Carts. Three of them look like that model and the others are six drawer carts. I have them divided into Lace/Fingering, Sport/Baby, DK, Worsted, and Worsted/Bulky. Not included in these carts are the sweater’s worth bags of yarns, mostly worsted, and sweaters in progress that lost interest. Also a few plastic shoeboxes hold other yarns that didn’t fit into the carts.

What isn’t organized is the large basket that is half full of odd balls and leftovers. I plan to go through these and separate wools from superwash wools or blends. This will mean I must refer to Flickr to figure out what the yarn was used for originally. Oy! Once this is done I will package by weight and fiber and use these for scrap projects or fun stuff.

image

One thought is to make a cozy scrap blanket, but I am not good at long term projects. And scrap things end up causing me terror as I can not just let them happen in a random manner. LOL, I usually try to manage the colors.

image
The carnage of plastic bags left from repacking the yarn

In the knitting area, I am still working on January’s library choice, French Cancan. Hoping it doesn’t take all of February too!

5 thoughts on “Love Your Library, vol. 6”

  1. I did some work in my yarn/knitting room over the weekend. It gets disorganized so quickly, but I need it to be at least a little bit tidy to do any spinning/knitting at all in there. I get too distracted by the clutter and general disorganization and can’t settle into doing anything. Thanks for sharing!

    1. LOL, my OCD means that I must block out all other distractions from luring me into the never ending pit of organizing!! Hence the stash redo when I was only planning on organizing my library!

  2. It feels so good to get those types of things organized. Scraps are always good for hats too! My bin of scraps is ridiculous. I need to think of a good way to use them too (I can make hats for the entire town I guess).

Cat got your tongue?

