Posted in Knitting

Friday FOes

Every time I say FO in my head I think of it pronounced as foe, not F-O. Why do I say it that way in my head? Because walking around saying it out loud would cause people to stare at my craziness! But anyhoo, anywho? Today the FOes are of the hat variety. These are all hats I have made for donation to various charities. Some to one of the local hospital baby ward and the others to our church’s Operation Christmas Child. We pack boxes all year long.

image
Valley Superwash DK from WEBS
Adapted version of Slouchy Baby Hat
Baby and Preemie sized

image
Jenny Watson Superwash DK from WEBS
Adapted version of Two by Two Basic Beanie
Children sized

In my bid to use up all the leftovers from these yarns I had to get creative. And also, who wants a boring solid color hat? Stripes and different stitch patterns make it more interesting for me, and I hope, the recipients. Although the preemies and babies have no clue of the style or colors. Hopefully they do enjoy the warmth the hats provide.

Thank you for all the comments and prayers for me the other night. My Mom steam had just run out! By Wednesday afternoon some discussions had taken place and the family got me some flowers and a gift card to have my nails done. I think it was because I threatened to not make dinner for the next 2 weeks! No, I know they did it because I needed to have real, tangible, evidence that they appreciate what I do. That’s all us Moms really ever want. Just acknowledge the fact we have our breaking points sometimes and need affirmation. But we also need to be sure we are affirming our spouses and kids too. I know I am not always doing that well, so I endeavor to be better myself.

Now, I better get cracking on the shawls that are on the needles. I am almost halfway through the border on Miss Dashwood and through 6 repeats on the Sagano Shawl. They are both going on vacation with me, so hopefully they will see some progress. Unless it is just unseasonably cool in Daytona I doubt I will knit on the beach or by the pool. Last year I knit hats while there, but this year the alpaca will be too hot and sticky for hot weather knitting. The Mad Tosh is doable, but only if it’s breezy.

PS: In regards to my youngest turning 18 yesterday, it took the health orgs no time at all to send me notification that I was still on the hook for paying the bills, but no longer allowed to see her charts! You just have to laugh sometimes.

Author:

A knitter, mom, wife and doodle lover!, but not necessarily in that order. Just ask my family, they'll tell you who comes first.

3 thoughts on “Friday FOes

  1. Oh Chris, so much for a Friday!
    1. I love the banner, it’s gorgeous.
    2. Yes, all we want is some acknowledgment. Me? I’m greedy, I would also like validation (because one begins to feel insane if you’re the only one with a certain perspective within the household and you’re outnumbered).Oh yes, and I demand to get to do what I want. I’m a horrible person I know, but I am the squeakiest of the wheels.
    3. The hats are beautiful, but I do not have any superwash in the stash right now. But now I know, and who knows what I end up digging up if I ever really reorganize and then I will send it to ya. And I think it’s lovely you do charity knitting. I never knit for babies, but for the elderly back when. I’ll get around to charity knitting again some day.
    4. Have a GREAT weekend.

  2. I make hats and give them to our social worker…she donates them to needy families…but I’m thinking of doing some for the abuse shelter in town….and yes, we all need validation…

Cat got your tongue?

