Posted in Knitting

It’s the small things

Even if it’s just 8 or 14 rows a day. Chipping away will result in a finished object. That’s the goal. Baby Blanket by Oct 25th, ready to gift. So why is it that this is the LAST thing I want to knit!!!

image

10 stripes down, 11 more to go.

And when you have leftovers from three punkin head hats and you think why not combine them to make a stripey hat.

image image image

Only, you don’t have enough of the orange for the size you decided to knit.

image image image

So you end up with 1 stripe with only 1 row at the top there.

Now, will any of these issues make or break the knit items? No, the blanket will get done, because I am committed to finishing it. The hat is going to be warm no matter how it’s striped.

Now, the big things.

Why is it that no matter how many hat patterns I looked at, none of them agreed on how deep to knit the hat before the decreases!!! I got 5.5″, 6.25″, 7.5″, all for a 16″ circumference hat. Working on limited yarn I knit it to 6″. It will fit someone.

I popped my pinkie knuckle on a door handle 3 weeks ago. 1 week later I popped it again. Now I am noticing the pain has not completely gone and even shooting pains are starting to radiate from the knuckle. I even think there is a faint knot on the knuckle. It’s my tensioning finger!!!! The more knitting I do, the more it is irritated. So, I guess it’s time to go to the Dr. I have too many things to get knit!!!!

I will be knitting tomorrow while I wait for a delivery. A stationary bicycle that my husband choose from a list of items he could receive for his 25th work anniversary. Oh joy! An exercise equipment item. Is he trying to tell me something? OK, it was a choice between a power tool he didn’t need, a treadmill I would not be able to use, or the bike. At least with the bike I will try to learn to knit while riding. Since I don’t have to steer, it’s doable, right? Well, check back on Wednesday to see how successful I was!

Joining with Frontier Dreams today.

Joining with these parties on Wednesday:
iknead2knit
Life and Yarn
Yarn Along

Author:

A knitter, mom, wife and doodle lover!, but not necessarily in that order. Just ask my family, they'll tell you who comes first.

11 thoughts on “It’s the small things

  1. Chris, you always make me laugh. I have this image of you knitting furiously away while bobbing up and down on a stationary bike. If anyone can do it, it’s you. Just don’t fall off AND get us a picture stat!

    Your productivity and discipline (especially on the baby blanket) is inspiring. I think I’ll visit the gym AND put in a few blanket rows tonight with your push …

    love the orange and green combination hat.

  2. The thing I HAVE to crochet is the thing I resist most. It is going to be a beautiful baby blanket when finished, though. :^) Hope your knuckle heals soon, but yep…sounds like it’s time to get it checked out.

  3. I think the one thin stripe is a cool design feature 🙂 Ouch, hope the finger is feeling better. And be careful to not have any yarn dangling while knitting and stationary cycling. Don’t ask me how I know.

  4. Ouch! I hit my wrist on a door jam while carrying something very heavy and that is when I developed carpal tunnel. I feel for you friend. The blanket is lovely and the hats are adorable. I have been thinking about a treadmill-which wouldn’t be good for my knees, but a stationary bike sounds good. May have to do that.

Cat got your tongue?

