Posted in Knitting

It’s getting so close!!!

Except for the ripping back to change the ribbing. Here’s where I was:

image

See the big ball of yarn? That’s what is used with the red yarn for alternating stripes. The small banded yarn is what is left from the ribbing. But, I want to add ribbing to the other bottom edge. And there is no way that banded yarn will cover the edge. Now, I just purchased that yarn recently, so I could likely find the same dye lot and buy enough to finish it. But, I am trying hard to not buy more! Especially when I have that huge skein, plus more, of the yarn that has sat in my stash for over 12 years! So, I ripped.

And here is the piece reknit and seamed, just waiting to add the bottom ribbed edge.

image

Now, am I sad to lose the solid gray ribbing? Yes, I really liked the contrast between the ribbed edge and the stripes. But, I don’t hate the tweedy look, so it’s all good. Except, when I redid the ribbing I forgot I didn’t do a straight rib, I had done a right side knit row with a purl 2, knit 1 on wrong side row. And of course when I redid the ribbing I did knit 2, purl 1 ribbing. Gah! Oh well, it’s still all good.

Hopefully today I get the bottom edge ribbed and maybe a detail on the neckline to finish it off and prevent too much curl. I am hoping to wear it to knitting on Wednesday to celebrate my birthday! We do a birthday lunch for the celebrant and it’s my turn this week! I get to choose my favorite restaurant and someone makes a sweet treat to share with the group while at knitting. Can’t wait!

Now it’s time to check out Frontier Dreams to see how crafting is going for others.

Author:

A knitter, mom, wife and doodle lover!, but not necessarily in that order. Just ask my family, they'll tell you who comes first.

7 thoughts on “It’s getting so close!!!

  1. I’m impressed you frogged all that and started over so you wouldn’t have to purchase more yarn. I’m trying to be more mindful of my yarn spending too but I’m getting off to a bad start. I blame the internet 😉

  2. I was a fan of that gray, but you’re right the tweed looks good too. I like how you have these knitting principles that you know are going to make you bonkers and you rip it if you know it’s going to not work out right or bother you. I still struggle with this.

  3. Oh that is brave to rip back all that beautiful work and start over but I think it will be worth it – if it was always going to bother you you just have to go for it!

  4. The new ribbing looks good! I do like the pattern you used on the grey one too. I’ll have to try that one sometime.

    Happy birthday! Hope you have a wonderful day!

  5. Great job!

    Honestly, I always think it is better to rip out and make it work they way you want (or have to make it work). I had bound off a sweater, and ripped back to make the button hole better and make the edgings a little shallower.

Cat got your tongue?

