Posted in Knitting

Keep Calm and get back to those WIPs!!

My knitting took a spin away from the boring cable projects. Wait, cables aren’t boring, but when all your projects are cabled it can get tedious. Yes, tedious, that’s the word. So I thought to break it up by throwing in a non cabled item, a cowl of some sort, and quickly focused on every cabled cowl in my library/queue! But I held steady and did not cast on a cabled cowl. From the list I mentioned in this post I chose Casu Cowl.

It’s a basic cowl knit sideways, which I knew would afford me the best option to use up every last single inch of the yarn I had leftover from a frogged project. The frogged project also yielded this poncho. And I did. Use every last INCH of this yarn! Which meant I had to weave in 8 tails! But it was worth it to have only snips to throw away, which means nothing went back into the stash.

image

The pattern is a simple YO lace with Double Seed Stitch in the body. The DSS is almost a waste with this yarn due to it’s crimp and coloration. The texture is just about lost in the noise. But it kept me from being too bored with the knitting, so it’s all good.

I knit this just about all over. Through many episodes of Poldark, oh how I want to visit Cornwall now! Or just casually run into Aidan Turner. OK, where was I? The cowl finally finished up on Vikings. Why yes, I am making the most of my Amazon Prime Free Trial! With the cold weather return, I am warm and cozy in my living room with my TV and Streaming Blu-Ray. And the dogs are ever present by my side, in my lap, laying on my feet.

 image
One on my chair, the other on a chair we placed next to it.

Now head on out to see what others are getting done today. And I must get back to those cabled projects! It’s a good thing I had more Vikings to watch last night, so I pulled out the left front of my sweater and put many repeats into it. I am half a front and 1 sleeve away from construction and then finishing!! Maybe a sweater before the end of the month? Wait, remember Chris? NO DEADLINES! OK, got it. But maybe just a little dreaming?

Author:

A knitter, mom, wife and doodle lover!, but not necessarily in that order. Just ask my family, they'll tell you who comes first.

2 thoughts on “Keep Calm and get back to those WIPs!!

  1. Dreaming is an essential part of knitting!! And I know what you mean about needing to break things up a little when all of your projects are the same; variety is the spice of life!

Cat got your tongue?

