Posted in Knitting

Five on Friday x 2

Joining a new to me link party for Fridays.

image

  1. Sweater knitting is hard sometimes. You just lose the will to go on when things seem to take forever. Missing a sleeve and finishing.
  2. And then sometimes you just cast on that last piece and knit away. Sleeve is over half done!!!
  3. Realizing the finishing still has to be done, seaming, button bands, deep collar.
  4. The 1st sleeve that used a skein that is not a perfect color match, even though it is the SAME DYE LOT!, is still not good even after tea-staining. Time to get some black dye and make a diluted batch to try and get that brightness level down.
  5. Realizing that even though you are so close to finishing, you have no idea what to start next. Stymied by too many options!!

These are my thoughts today. Eager to get this sweater done so I can wear it a few times before the warm weather arrives, but not sure just where I will go from here. Options are:

  1. Shawl I want to make for my sister, but I don’t have pattern or yarn picked out. Nothing in stash so I have to shop, oh darn.
  2. Striped sweater in fingering weight. Oy! But it would be perfect for spring, weight and colorwise.
  3. Shawl for myself. Tons of yarn on hand, tons of patterns queued, now to match them for the perfect project.
  4. More charity hats. Which will be cast on on Charity Hat Sunday, but too often I use them to avoid starting big projects.
  5. Baby sweater I am making for friend’s granddaughter. Have yarn, have pattern, just need to determine best size to make.

So, what’s you on your list?

Author:

A knitter, mom, wife and doodle lover!, but not necessarily in that order. Just ask my family, they'll tell you who comes first.

8 thoughts on “Five on Friday x 2

  1. That pattern is really pretty. I’m really sad that you aren’t pleased with the color on that one skein, but it looks good 🙂

    I can feel your excitement when I read about your what’s next list. I am excited to see the striped fingering weight sweater.

    I’ve got an angry cardigan on the needles as well. After it comes off, I’m going to put on another cardigan, a pair of socks and I’m taking a scarf/shawl out of hibernation. Let’s hope I can figure out where the heck I am in it…

    Happy Knitting Weekend to you, Chris!

  2. Isn’t it amazing how making something can have so many difficulties and be so fraught! I hope that you can figure it all out and, and figure out what to make next!!! Thank you so much for joining in the anniversary of Five On Friday, I really do appreciate it so much! Have a good weekend! xx

  3. Greetings! How I admire your sweater knitting skills! I tried to knit myself a sweater and it was a total loss. I’m now using the yarn to knit a shawl. It looks like you have lot of fun knits planned to keep you busy. Wishing you a wonderful weekend, Pat 🙂

  4. Your sweater looks beautiful, and I hope you can fix up the colour issue. I’ve never tried a sweater because I don’t want to do all the work and then it might not fit. Keep going! You’ll be happy when it’s finally finished 🙂

Cat got your tongue?

