Posted in Knitting

Intentions

When I started the year I wanted to follow intentions, but not make goals or plans. I am still going forward with that idea, but the recent FOs brought to light a flaw in my scheme. This weekend I came to a decision on how to avoid the issue.

To explain: When I finished my recent FOs I found a disturbing consequence. Having laid no foundation for the next thing up I floundered. In the past when I have no clue about what’s up next, I end up casting on hats and frittering away my knitting time. Not that charity hats don’t have value, but they take away from my attempts to clothe myself. So I had a moment of terror, not knowing what I should do next. Forgetting all those I. MUST. CAST. THIS. ON. NOW. projects I have stashed, I was unsure where to turn. Thankfully I had Woodstove Season ready to go, so I avoided catastrophe. But it made clear the problem with not having aims/goals/plans for the next step.

To avoid this problem I went through my queue and identified projects I have yarn for, or ones I am eager to do. I put them on a list, created packets, and put them in a basket.

image

Now, when I finish something, I have ready projects at hand. I won’t prioritize them or number them, just have them on tap for whenever I cast off a knit. On the list I have separated them between less than/more than 1000 yards. When I am in the middle of a big project and need a small one to amuse me, I have a list to draw from. If I finish a big item and need another to take it’s place, I have something to jump on the needles.

Will this system work? Who knows. Not included on the list are the items that I have promised to make for others. I think I have about 7 items I plan to make over the year, some baby, some adult. Hopefully I will keep that list to the 7 identified, unless more baby news is sprung on us through the year.

How do you work around your queue, wants, temptations? Joining Frontier to share my method.

Author:

A knitter, mom, wife and doodle lover!, but not necessarily in that order. Just ask my family, they'll tell you who comes first.

14 thoughts on “Intentions

  1. I try to keep my upcoming projects on Ravelry. I have one basket on top of my yarn bar that I keep the “must cast on” projects in. That way I am always seeing it in front of me and it keeps me focused. I do the same with my fiber stash. I just try to keep it somewhat in view so I don’t get too distracted.

  2. I actually have done the same thing Chris. I had purchased yarn for specific patterns, but they were not getting knit. With my upcoming trip to England and Scotland and the want to take hand knitted items with me, I bought large ziplock bags and put the yarn and the pattern in the bags and put them in my craft room. There are there and ready to go so when I get done with one project I have more that I can pick up and start. I have changed the patterns a couple of times just because I changed my mind about the patter I wanted to use. I think it’s a fab way to stay on top of the things you really want to make and have purchased yarn for.

    On a side note, I have a question about a pattern I am making and will email you about it. It’s a paid for pattern and I don’t want to put even part of the pattern out for other’s to read.

    1. I have everything in containers and stored in my closet. Which means I have to go upstairs and dig it out to cast on. Hopefully having it next to my knitting chair will give me the impetus to just cast it on when I have a spare needle. I will find a way to stow away with you!!! Bwahahahaha!!!!

  3. I’ve done something similar to this at various points. I find it has worked best for socks for me. I like it. I’m curious to see how it works. The thing for me that I really appreciate is you finding something you want to address and coming at the issue from a new angle. You know Einstein’s definition of Insanity!

  4. I think that’s a good system. I’m usually plotting a few projects in the back of my mind as I get to the end of the current one so I know where I’m going next (I tend to have at least two knits on the go) and I’ve got a crochet blanket that’s been going over a year as a fall back!

    1. I usually do have ideas in my head, but this year I seem to be floundering. Maybe because I am making myself knit from stash, so there’s no chasing a new pattern and new yarn!!!

  5. If only one bin or box would hold all my kits! I do make kits, though, with the yarn and pattern, so when I want to make something I can dig through those, instead of starting from scratch.

    1. I never said these were all my kits, these are just the ones I brought out into the light of day! I still have over 60,000 yards of yarn in the closet from whence these came. LOL!

Cat got your tongue?

