Posted in Knitting

What would you do?

So, I was perusing blogs the other night through the Reader on WordPress. Sometimes I find new to me blogs to add to my Netvibes list. I came upon one that had an adorable baby sweater, a striped Little Coffee Bean. She was talking about leaving all the ends undone until the end, which I am quite guilty of. In looking at the sweet sweater I noticed something strange with the bands. And then I realize, they were picked up from the wrong side of the sweater, the inside.

So, the dilemma, what would you do? Comment something nice and leave the blogger in her ignorance, or to be fair maybe she meant(?) to do it, or do you mention it in your comment. Or maybe no comment at all? Well, not known to be shy, I did comment and pointed out the issue. And then did acknowledge it’s an adorable sweater. But I wonder. Was it the right thing to do?

I am one who believes every knitter can develop their way of knitting, NO way is better, righteous, faster, or superior, to the other. NO WAY! I don’t care if so and so celebrity knitter told you Continental is faster. I don’t care if someone said it’s better to tension the yarn around your neck. The best way for you to knit is the way YOU knit. The only reason to change your method is if it isn’t working for you. I was first taught to knit Continental and I FAILED! Ten years later I was taught English and I haven’t stopped. For me the hand holding the yarn was the problem. I cannot tension with my left hand, I am too right hand dominant. I can muddle through with my left hand, but find no compelling reason to force it.

But, I do feel there are certain rules to knitting that cannot be broken. Button bands must be picked up from the right side. Sure, you can pick up from the wrong side, but why would you. What do you think?

In life stories, prayers needed for College Girl. She had to go to the health clinic at school the other day for her ears. She has been plagued by ear issues since a baby. She had infections constantly. Once older they found she had a skin condition that creates a mashed potato effect in her inner ear. Constant build up causes impacted gunk and loss of hearing. In trying to clear out the gunk the student nurse could not find her eardrum. The Dr eventually determined the skin condition has cause her ear to produce skin covering her eardrum. 100% in one ear, 50% in the other. She failed a hearing test after passing the first 2. So we are off to visit an ENT group to determine what they can do for her. And trying to schedule this all around the MCAT in May, research job in May, and then hopefully another research job this summer. We want it to be done before school resumes in August.

And more text convos with Diva Girl, who’s in Florida.

imageExcuse my misspelled word, I don’t do auto correct on my phone

Author:

A knitter, mom, wife and doodle lover!, but not necessarily in that order. Just ask my family, they'll tell you who comes first.

16 thoughts on “What would you do?

  1. You did right, if you put your work out into the big wide world people can help you improve, not just say how wonderful it is.. Good luck with the health issues. Have a Happy Easter.

  2. I think if there was a glaring error in my knitting, I would want to know before I got too much further. Hopefully, that blogger will appreciate the notice even IF she intended it that way. Graciousness never hurts. Hopefully she will be gracious.

  3. You did right in letting her know. However- some patterns are written that way. I can’t stand letting color changes show (that little dotted line annoys me), yet I just finished a pattern where the main design feature is to LET the color changes show! The wrong side IS the correct side. It took me a little while to get used to it- mainly just because the front side is truly not as dynamic as the backside, but for normal stuff- hide the color changes!

    I gave my father-in-law a blanket for Father’s Day last year, and he loves to curl up under it- inside out. It makes me cringe, but I have to remind myself- if he likes that side better- it’s his blanket, not mine.

    1. I am soon OCD about right and wrong sides. I hate the purl side on anything. Garter is even gah to me! Button bands MUST be picked up from the right side, I will not deviate. Surely it’s bad knitting karma inducing, or some such catastrophe? Besides, it would probably produce a nervous tic in my if I did. LOL!

  4. tricky dilemma. I think you did the right thing in letting her know. A lot of knitters seem to be self taught now, I am, and sometimes you don’t know you’re doing something wrong until it gets pointed out to you. It’s how you learn and grow as a crafter 🙂

    1. I was lucky to have real time knitting friends who I badgered endlessly when learning to knit. I forget that not all of us have that resource. And sometimes you don’t know the questions to ask the internet.

  5. I hope your dear girl gets better! As for the knitter, I guess it would depend how the finished garment looked. As you say there are no rules in knitting and sometimes designers break traditions to achieve the desired effect. I think I would ask if there is a reason why she picked up stitches this way and not the usual way.

    1. She replied that after doing it she realized the mistake, but was too annoyed with the cardigan at that point to care. Gee, I recognize that feeling. But my OCD would never allow me to leave it! LOL

  6. Poor CG! I hope that the ENT can figure out a way to improve the ear situation. Must be so frustrating for her!
    Yes, that is a tricky situation about commenting on the buttonband. Being mainly a self-taught knitter, I always welcome various opinions….it’s a continuous learning process. For example, I have been knitting many years but just learned a year ago a better way to weave in ends from a comment on my blog. It has made a tedious task so much less tedious, not to mention giving a tidier result. (I think the commenter was moved to comment because of my messy weaving technique, LOL. So happy that she did!). The main thing is to be kind & tactful.

  7. Nicely done. It’s really tricky! I’ve mentioned to a couple continental style knitters that their stitches are twisted (because they purled back catching the yarn clockwise instead of counterclockwise), but noted that if that’s the result you want, it’s ok. Just not conventional. I don’t think either of them changed what they were doing. But I’m a knitting instructor, so I just had to put it out there! One was asking me about designing, and in that case you really do have to be more conventional, or let knitters know that you want it to look that way. Otherwise, confusion abounds. “Why doesn’t mine look like yous?”

    In the case of your knitter/comment, she wasn’t the designer, right?

    1. Not a designer, I would never question a designer. But she accepted the comment with grace, so it’s all good. I had the same issue with s woman knotting a felted bag, every row was twisted. Not a big deal for felting, but she needed to know for future knitting. She was happy for the help.

  8. PS: your text message convo made me laugh. I have had the same kind of convo with my kids, but in that case it was me going to a meeting with someone!

    PPS: Hope the ENTs can figure out a good solution for College Girl.

    1. LOL! She told us last night that the friend she was with was going to accept a drink from some guy at a club. DG shut that down quick. Her friend had no clue she shouldnt accept drinks from strangers.

Cat got your tongue?

