Posted in Knitting

Non knitting post, so step away if you aren’t interested.

I had an epiphany the other day. While washing my hair. Who knew such knowledge would spring forth at such an odd time. I guess genius strikes at all hours. Anyhoo, here it is, my theory on Stalkers in the 2000’s.

It seems you hear more and more about stalkers, or there just seems to be more of them. And more violent stalkers are about. Of course, it could just be that media is more pervasive, so that’s why we hear more about them. But I have a theory as to why there are more of them these days.

Trophy Generation. You know, the kids who grew up getting a trophy merely for showing up. Not for success or accomplishment, just because they were part of the league. The ones who grew up participating in sports where no one kept score. Their very existence was lauded and praised, no matter what their behavior or actions.

So, this gen, which has never been told no, stop, or be your best, has now grown into the gen that thinks they can do no wrong. Then, when they are denied things in the real world, they cannot process this betrayal.

Case in point: My daughter has olive toned skin (from Dad) and curly wavy hair (from Mom). She is in a school that is full of all colors of skin and is often mistaken for a Bi-racial person. She is hit on by AfAm guys a lot. She is very shy, so even being hit on makes her nervous. But when she declines their advances they accuse her of being racist. She isn’t. She has friends of all colors, shapes, and sizes. She just has an ideal for the kind of guys she wants to date, Caucasian, football player, country boy, laid back. Someone like her, with the same upbringing. Someone she can relate to.

So what does this have to do with Trophy Gen? These kids have been brought up to believe that they are so special, that when someone tells them no thanks, they have to attack that person as being “fill in the blank”. She’s perfectly happy being friends with these guys, just not interested in dating them. But she gets attacked and denigrated for not accepting their offer.

Back in my day, LOL, if someone didn’t like me, or I didn’t like them, I do not remember anyone being branded a bad person because of the lack of returning the affection. Do you remember this being the case?

So, my theory is, the kids nowadays have been told much too much that they are “it”. And then when they don’t get what they want, they turn their anger at being denied towards the person who refused them. And then build up the issue in their mind until they become obsessed with the situation. Far fetched? I don’t know. But I also see it between girls who are friends, and then fall out. The different factions all keep putting their nose in the other group’s business and just will not drop the bone. Especially if it’s about a guy! They just cannot stand losing or the perception of lose to another. Because, hey, didn’t you know I GOT A TROPHY!!!! My oldest daughter once had a former friend stalk her on the playground because CG took a neutral stance on a spat between two friends. In 3RD GRADE!

But then again, the Trophy Gen has also become this.  This comment, “I’m supposed to feel comfortable and safe,” an unidentified student told the Emory Wheel. “But this man is being supported by students on our campus and our administration shows that they, by their silence, support it as well…I don’t deserve to feel afraid at my school.” I don’t care for DT, but seriously? You can’t process the fact that someone else has a different opinion than you?

 I JUST CAN’T!!! Someone stop the madness!!!!

So, what say you? Stalkers? Cry Babies? We are so done for when these kids are adults. Wait, will any of them actually make it to adulthood? Doesn’t seem like they are even out of their toddler stage at this point.

Author:

A knitter, mom, wife and doodle lover!, but not necessarily in that order. Just ask my family, they'll tell you who comes first.

9 thoughts on “Non knitting post, so step away if you aren’t interested.

  1. Well said! As a parent and grandparent, I feel that we do a disservice to children when we raise them as “special snowflakes” – don’t get me wrong – every person has a right to feel loved and appreciated, but at the same time, we all need some sort of “yardstick” for comparison. Success is devalued in a world where “everyone’s a winner”. Just my 2 cents.

  2. Bullying was always present in my school days, the one who is slightly different, less pretty, clever etc. Social media allows it to tip over into something far more serious far too easily. I think people also need to be more cautious when choosing friends not to get too deep too soon, and to have cultural awareness that their behaviour is not misunderstood as being more than it is. Youngsters are very trusting. So glad that I didn’t have to contend with social media when I was young. You have written a very thought provoking post and I hope your daughter finds someone she really likes.

    1. You see that in relationships in kids. They expect too much too quickly. It scares DG away from many guys she would like to hang with, but the expect way too much.

      1. My middle son age 15 became scared of a girl who wanted too much. I had forgotten till now that she stalked him and I eventually explained to her that she scared him and he was too young for what she wanted! It worked. Then he and I had a very long conversation on what he had done that she misinterpreted. Oh teenagers! Good luck Mum!

  3. I feel sorry for the kids growing up in this current generation, especially the teens. I remember having so much optimism for the future when I was their age. Nowadays, I see many young adults just drifting through life and goalless.

    1. There is a percrption of no future amongst this younger generation, but I believe there is a future, they just need to refocus. And we need to promote more than just college degrees. But I fear it will take another generation or two begore things turn around.

  4. Sweetie I am with you! I don’t know what has happened to our society. But then again, I do. We have to be so freakin’ politically correct or so and so may get their feelings hurt. Geez! We have raised a generation of entitled babies who think they should get paid for doing nothing, get praised for no reason and should get everything they want. I see that trait in my youngest and I do not hesitate to point out to her what she is entitled to and that she has to work for everything else. My parents were hard on me but I grew up to be a person they respect and that they are proud of. Lord help us when they start ruling the world!

  5. I wish my parents had been harder on me, made me do more and not let me off the hook so much. But then we have done the same with our girls. It’s only now that they are older we are trying to correct some of those mistakes. But we have always tried to instill in them respect for others and hard work.

Cat got your tongue?

