Knitting

No words

I have been missing for a bit. Too much has been going on. My daughter went to the National Band competition in Indy on November 12th. It was a long competition and she did not arrive home until 2:00 am. At 4:00 am 4 members of a family we grew up with hit a deer on I-69. They pulled off the road to survey the damage when a 19 year old drunk driver slammed into their car. Mother, Son, and Granddaughter were killed on impact. The other Granddaughter survived with minimal injuries due to the fact she had taken off her seat belt. To say our community back home was devastated is a huge understatement. On Thursday these lovely people were put to rest. The outpouring of love has been so heartwarming.

It is so devastating to realize that life can be taken so quickly. And it really is vital that we leave each other on good terms.

In other news, my surgeon is in need of prayer. They called last week to tell me my hip surgery was canceled. I must admit I had a bit of a temper tantrum upon hearing that. But the reason brings me back to earth. The Dr learned he has a mass on his kidney, so he is facing a much more difficult road than my hip causes me. They are trying to fit his patients in with another Dr, but I was really wanting my surgery done this year while our insurance is maxed out and my Husband has all the time he needs to take off work to help me.

But it will be what it will be, and I will survive, as long as they keep supplying the drugs!

And a bit of good news, our house details were finalized today. We went to the design center and chose all the flooring, cabinets, wall color, lighting, electrical, and outside features. It doesn’t make it any closer, still projected to be April/May, but it’s one more thing done. Once they get things going I just pray no precipitation!!!

Knitting, a little, not much at all. Just one more sleeve and button bands on a baby sweater to go. And then a million other things to do!! Ah well, I am not going anywhere soon. And now off to hug my guy and tell my kids how much I love them!

8 thoughts on “No words”

  1. Oh I am so sorry to read this. Prayers to the family involved in the accident. Prayers also to the family of the young man that caused the accident. I know they are feeling so much pain as well.

    I hope you’ll be able to schedule your surgery soon. I know what you mean about planning around your insurance. Sometimes it feels like an impossible dance. Good luck.

  2. Wow, I’m so sorry for your loss. It’s incredibly hard to have people you know taken from you so suddenly. My heart goes out to the granddaughter, and to you. 😦

  3. I am so sorry for your loss. Something like that certainly puts life in perspective.
    I hope your surgery doesn’t take too much longer. As someone with chronic back issues, I know just how much the pain puts your life on hold some days.
    Glad the house is going well – at least something is! Good luck!

  4. My prayers go out to your friends and their family. What a heartbreaking tragedy. Life is so very unpredictable. So sad to hear about your doctor. Yes, all we can do is make sure that our loved ones know how much they mean to us everyday.

Cat got your tongue?

