Knitting

The best news!

Since my original hip Dr had to cancel my surgery, I was referred by their office to another Dr. I had a visit with the new Dr last week. They had a date of February 16th open, but it’s at a hospital my husband had a bad experience with, so we asked about the other hospital availability. I am thrilled to say, we got an earlier date there. DEC 14TH!!!!! One day after my first surgery date with the previous Dr. A weight has been lifted from my shoulders, only to be replaced with total fear of surgery. I don’t do anesthesia well, and always expect bad consequences from it. Hopefully advancements in that area will give me  a better outcome.

Now I have to scurry around and finish up the Christmas shopping! Although, most of the last minute items are for my side of the family and we can’t get a date to celebrate with everyone until New Year’s Day! Too many other commitments right now.

So is all right with my world? Yes! Except I still have no knitting mojo. Although I did start a hat. I need to crank out 4 more before Christmas, so I need to get cracking on them! And they will be easy since I have already made 3 of them in the past.

Being 3 hours north of my former city, we are now in an area where the temps are 5-7 degrees colder on average. It’s been wonderful to get out my sweaters and wear them again!! I have worn this one. And this one, technically not a sweater, I know. And this one which I think has to be my favorite of all time. And this one. I may not be knitting, but I sure am enjoying the fruits of previous labors.

img_2788And in house news, they will be breaking ground soon!!! As I wait for that I have been finding new dishes for my parents to give us for Christmas. Choosing paint colors, blue for kitchen/dining, orange for spare bath #1, green for master bed/hallway. I know I will be throwing a light brown into the mix, and will wait to see what the girls want for “their” rooms. Youngest says Dark Purple. We said, NO!!!img_2806

Choosing light fixtures for the kitchen island, dining room, and a fan for the family room. And even more fun, choosing rugs for the hardwood flooring areas in the kitchen, dining room, and family room. I just might end up with a house that will not have any red in it for the first time in 18 years! But wait, the outside of the house is red!!!!

And that’s my life in a nutshell at the moment. I pray that your worries be light, your joys overflow, and your knitting be bountiful!

14 thoughts on “The best news!”

  1. I am so so happy you got your surgery date! It will be a relief for you when you have this behind you. I’ll keep you in my thoughts on the worry, actual day of surgery and recovery.
    I love everything you’ve picked for the new house. Good call on the dark purple:)

  2. Congratulations Chris! I’m so happy the surgery scheduling is working out for you! I very much understand the fear around any health related procedures, especially surgery. I am sending you my very best and wishing you an easy time of it and very fast healing. As for the joys that come with the new home. Big congratulations and hugs for that too. 🙂

  3. So glad you are going to be able to get it done sooner than you thought! I have a friend who doesn’t do well with that stuff either. Make sure they are forewarned so they give you what you need. HUGS!!!!

    1. I always tell them, I need less anesthesia than you are going to think. They often don’t believe me, which is why I ended up with panic attacks after having my gall bladder removed. Thanks!

Cat got your tongue?

