Knitting

Fiber Arts FO Friday

This week’s FO is one I have already flashed on the blog.

img_3018

This hat was a special request from a friend’s wife. Her husband, my Hubster’s BF from childhood, is on his 2nd bout of cancer. He has appendix cancer, a very rare and unusual one. His life was saved in the first bout because his appendix was out of place, it burst, and the cancer had enveloped it, so the cancer ate the poisons from the the rupture. They treated him with advanced medicines and methods and life was awesome. And then, the tumors came back and grew. And now he is trying a last ditch new procedure.

The hat I made for him during the first round is spent. So when the timid request came, I was ALL IN! This time the request was for blue. Not quite as University Kentucky Blue as I would prefer, but it’ll do.

Deets: Lion Brand Wool Ease for easy care. The pattern is Cambridge Watchcap. A great hat for close fitting on bald heads. And the length allows for doubling up to keep ears cozy.

In other hat knitting, I didn’t watch my yardage well and I am this short of completing the last bunny hat!!!

img_3038

It isn’t quite as close as it looks. I just finished a row of 9 sts, k2togs, which means I have loads more to go. My attempts to find the correct red somewhere I could access was for naught. The local shop didn’t have that red. I doubt my old local shop will have a skein left since they discontinued it. But I will call to see what they might have. If all else fails, I have a skein winging it’s way to me, which means that the littlest bunny won’t have her bunny until she gets back to Pittsburgh. And after this hat, just one more on the list, a different hat thankfully! This one will be a soft burgundy with a tan bow.

Check out what other fiber arts are being created this week! And have an awesome weekend!!

For those in the path of the ice storm, may you be safe and prayers the storm does not pack as much punch as expected. Half of us, JG and I, are on the lower edge, and half of us, Hub and DG, are in the middle of the bad wave. I am just concerned with getting back on Saturday to our current home in the bad wave!!!

Be happy for this moment. This moment is your life. Omar Khayyam

9 thoughts on “Fiber Arts FO Friday”

  1. First prayers for your husbands friend. I’m sure he’ll appreciate the hat. Second I hope the storm isn’t as bad as they say. I don’t know how you all handle an ice storm. I’d rather deal with a couple of feet of snow. Have a safe weekend.

Cat got your tongue?

