Knitting

Stash Saturday #1/Fear Not Verse #3

Now, I may not pick up Stash each week, but maybe I will showcase past stash enhancements on weeks I am good and don’t buy yarn. For the first installment I start with the 1st skeins of yarn I purchased in 2017.

Lion Brand Wool Ease: I purchased a skein of Wool-Ease for a chemo cap for our friend. I am not usually a fan of Wool-Ease, but it does serve a function when easy care is needed. I wanted a bright blue to represent University of Kentucky, since the recipient and I share of love for UK Basketball. This Blue Heather 620-107 was the closet I could get. UK blue is a brighter shade.

I found that this skein was surprisingly more soft and comfortable to knit with than the last skeins of Wool-Ease I used. It didn’t bother me at all to knit. And the look on the face of the recipient, in the photo they sent me, was enough to know it is comfortable to him.

img_3018

Pattern: Cambridge Watchcap

The best part? On Sale at JoAnn’s so it only cost me $3.60. A small price for such a great return!

So Stash confession:
Starting Stash on hand – 63,980 yards
Knitted Stash – 327 yards
Stash Added – 197 yards

Ending Stash 1-7-2017: 63,850 yards. Whew, at least it’s less.

Ordered, but not yet here is something I have wanted to do for a long time. And for some reason I just never went the full mile. I would look and create, but never hit commit. Well, yesterday I committed! I create a very basic woven label, on cream with apple green lettering. I ordered “chrisknitssews” labels!!!!! Now I will have labels to sew into all those baby items I will be making over the coming weeks/months. So excited!

So, have you enhanced your stash this week? Do tell!

img_3078

Romans 15:13 – Now the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that ye may abound in hope, through the power of the Holy Ghost.

7 thoughts on “Stash Saturday #1/Fear Not Verse #3”

  1. Very nice. I’ve made two cancer caps lately for a friend undergoing treatment for an aggressive breast cancer. The pictures she has sent me I will treasure. She is doing well btw. I am so glad she is responding well to treatment.

    As to adding to stash? Yes, I added one skein this month. A skien of merino/cashmere/nylon from Fondant Fibre. She had a bag I loved and since I was ordering from England I had to order some yarn too!

    On the other hand, I have been knitting older stash like crazy. I’ve knit three baby hats, a baby cocoon, a baby sweater and a baby dress and I started a hat to match the dress and sweater. Pictures will be posted to my blog for those very soon. I have not bought yarn for the baby at all. Now I will confess to buying five different pieces of fabric for receiving blankets. I always like to make those because the ones in the stores shrink so badly. I wash my fabric and make large ones that won’t shrink.

    Happy Knitting Friend!

Cat got your tongue?

