Knitting

Yarn Along

This week my yarn along project is a somber one. Our dear friend passed away Saturday and his funeral is Friday. Last week I asked his bride what her favorite color was. She said Ocean Blue and Lime Green. I just happened to have both of those colors in the same fingering weight yarn in my stash. Completely blown away how God works sometimes. I cast on a prayer shawl as J declined and hope to have it done to gift to her on Thursday. I am 50% done, and with 2 days to go it should be doable. And if not I can finish up on Thursday, the day of the visitation, block it, and present to her on Friday.

Lots of prayers are going into this shawl. Prayers for peace of mind, strength, and serenity. I know they will not make things better, but it’s all I have at hand to try.

The pattern is Serena Shadow Shawl, and I could not have found a better named shawl. Serenity is my biggest prayer for L. Just hoping this shawl will bring her a bit of serenity, no matter how small. The yarn is Araucania Ranco, a fingering weight yarn made of 75% wool and 25% polyamide. I am hoping it softens up just a tad in the soak. Not scratchy, but not the softest yarn. I love the colors Araucania makes, so vibrant! I once used their Atacama for a shawl, my very first shawl. Love the soft turquoise coloration in that yarn. And soft, so soft!

In the “book” part of the post, in which I use movies/TV since I knit to them more than I read, I have been enjoying a series on the Romanov Tsars on Netflix. Which now intrigues me to find some books on Catherine The Great. Who knows, maybe the next Yarn Along I will actually be reading along!

14 thoughts on “Yarn Along”

  1. The shawl is looking lovely and I know you’ll have it done Chris, it’s just how you knit. I know that shawl is full of love and prayer. It’s a power gift you’re giving, and beautiful too. 🙂

Cat got your tongue?

