Knitting, Quilting, Sewing

Commit to Knit: End of Week 2

I made a trip back home midweek to get some appointments taken care of and visit with the parents. Oh, and knit with my friends. So the regimen of sewing, making dinner, and exercise was certainly interrupted. But knitting is portable, so it came with me.

Day 12: Drove south early and got to join with my former knitting group for a few hours. Knit on the Drops Vest while we visited. Once I had run through errands and appointments I went back to my parents new home and spent the evening working on Cameo.

Day 13: Spent most of the day helping my Mom run errands and getting our hair cut. Then got locked out of her house with my dogs inside and us not. LOL. Finally got in and loaded up my car for the return trip to Indy. Once home I had furniture arranging to do, brought home 2 of her cast off accent chests. Dinner was made and eaten, and then I crashed! Just too tired to even pull out anything to knit on. So this was the first day since the Challenge that I did not knit. But not going to beat myself up over it, it’s a Challenge, not an Order.

Day 14: I went through my schedule of projects and got a lot accomplished. Valance ready to put on the wall, another valance close to completion, a roman shade begun, a small quilt piececing in progress, and knitting.

In other craftiness, I had a wooden spool decor item that has traveled with me awhile. I always planned to add a thin yarn to it to simulate a spool of thread. I finally did it. Nothing major, but it adds to the craft theme in my “rec” room. I need to find an acronym for this room. Sewing/idea/computer/knitting room. Sick? The yarn was leftover lace wool from a Lace Fichu I made my niece for her wedding

 

This old cake pan was my grandmother’s, the one who encouraged me to sew. My mom says this was the pan Grandma used to make the Birthday cakes for the family. I think it’s perfect for toting my sewing stuff to and fro.

Do you have an item with memories that you use in crafting? Share your story, I’d love to hear it.

8 thoughts on “Commit to Knit: End of Week 2”

  1. No not sick, better is Kics or even kcis! Love your memory tin. I have my Mum’s sewing box and my Mums, Grannys and Step Mums button tins, oh and embroidery scissors from my Step Mum. MIL gave me for presents my dress making scissors and the book which is my Bible of sewing skills. I am surrounded by their skills, megre though they were in some cases. Step Mum sewed on buttons only, Mum could do that, and darn, knit and embroider MIL could do everything brilliantly.

    1. Kics, perfect! Because it’s the room where I get my kicks, a euphemism for have fun. My paternal aunt and maternal grandmother where my mentors, I have my aunt’s sewing basket and buttons from both.

  2. You’re doing great! Missing a day or even two doesn’t matter.
    I have my mother’s knitting needles. I have put away her projects, finished and not, for H. I have knitting needles from both of my grandmothers. Many are odd
    ones that I just hold on to because I’m a sentimental fool. There is also one grandmothers sewing needles and the others buttons.

    1. Thanks, I am trying to not make it a drudgery by making it a “job”. So far it has fired my passion again. We didn’t have a lot of knitters in the family, oh how I wished we had, then maybe I would have learned to knit before November 28, 2000.

  3. I have my mom’s old knitting box that is beloved. You are so nice to help your family and visit with some friends too. Our knitting group has been hit or miss over the summer because of commitments.

    1. Since moving 3 hours away from my knitting group I have been hit or miss. LOL but every 4 weeks I have to go back “home” for my hair cut. Hubster says they have Salons in Indy, true, but not my knitting group!

Cat got your tongue?

