Knitting, Quilting

Leaving on a Jet Plane

OK, so not a jet plane this time, just Lana, my Outlander. Yes, we are “decamping” and headed home. A day earlier than planned, but after 5 straight days of sitting on my butt on the beach, I am ready to go home. Next trip will be with friends, so I expect it won’t seem such a long stretch. But right now I want my kiddos, pups, sewing machine, my bed, and other things close at hand. Plus, my normal diet! Not a diet diet, just my normal eating habits. We have only eaten out a few nights, but having lobster and crabs legs in isn’t much better than eating them out! They sure are yummy!

On our last day I did a little souvenir fabric shopping. I found a new to me quilt shop in Ormond Beach, Byrd’s Nest, and dropped in. So many thoughts of possible projects swirled through my head, the soon to start Christmas QAL, one of the projects I have linked to here, or maybe a bag pattern I saw. Ultimately I bought a foursome but I have no idea what I will make with it! Once I saw the yellow fabric, I just had to have it.

It will take some time to determine what it wants to be, I will probably just gaze at it’s loveliness for bit and see what happens. But the pattern, Twister Holiday, man do I want to start this ASAP! After watching the tutorial, I am wondering just how crazy am I to take it on? And then I want to make this one too! But first I need to track down the pinwheel device to make it easier. I just can’t imagine sewing all those squares together just to cut them up again. But I likely will!

On our last evening a dark sky covered the beach, as if to say it doesn’t want us to go. Or maybe it was just a storm.

I love seeing storms over the water, as long as I am not IN the water. A few cracks of lightning touched the water as I was watching. Such sheer beauty and might, all in the same instant. Makes you realize you are so insignificant in the grand scheme of things.

6 thoughts on “Leaving on a Jet Plane”

  1. Sounds like you had a nice time:) The fabric is so pretty. I love the yellow too.
    When you make the pinwheels take some photos to show us! It’s looks incredibly complicated but worth the effort.
    The sky looks angry! Watching storms is fun and scary at the same time. Mother Nature is pretty amazing.

Cat got your tongue?

