Knitting

Epiphany

Have you ever had an epiphany? One that just totally made sense of an area of your life, that you wonder how you never made the connection before? Well I just had one, about shawls.

During my recent 30 Day Commit to Knit Challenge I have knit on 2 shawls. Cameo and Cable. Cameo has gotten the lion’s share of attention. It was smaller, more straightforward, still in St st stage, and less tied to a chart. But I never considered another aspect of why I chose it over Cable. And then I considered shape. Cameo is a rounded triangle, Cable a very looooong rectangle. That right there was enough to convince me, but I took another look at the two. Repeats/design. Cable is nothing but a repeat of a cable chart. Granted there are 5 cabled sections made up of 3 cables, 2 cables mirrored either side of a centered cable. But still an endless repeat of the same. Cameo is a lace chart at the end of an enlarged triangle. A lace chart that changes with each row, only to be repeated twice.


2 rows into the lace chart, not that you can tell

There it was smacking me in the face! Although I love Cable, enjoy knitting cables, and love the yarn, it has stalled into the same old rhythm. One that can spell disaster for my hyper brain. I need change, excitement, something more. Rectangles just don’t change enough for me. Even if it’s a lace chart, it will still be repeated endlessly down the length.

So, does this Epiphany spell doom for Cable? I don’t think so, I am very committed to finishing it, I want so much to wear it! I just need to focus on the fact the chart is pretty much etched in my brain, so I don’t have to be tied to the chart instructions on my phone now. But lace just might always win out in a shawl battle, and definitely semi circle or triangle over rectangle any day!

What about you, have any knit related epiphanies lately?

4 thoughts on “Epiphany”

  1. So pretty! The yarn is lovely.
    As I said the other day, I am a process knitter. I can’t wait to move on to the next thing. I always stall when I’m doing obligation knitting. Someone asks for something and I just drag my feet getting it done.

Cat got your tongue?

