Knitting, Quilting, Sewing

How many hobbies fit in a room?

As many as you can get in it. Mine is up to 5 at the moment. I have condensed a sitting, sewing, knitting, TV watching, and computer room into one.

 
Still no valance on that window! Dog shown for scale.

My room redo: The green military chest, my Dad’s, right inside the doorway holds yarn and  leftover project bag stock. The painted chest holds notions. A sofa table is my new sewing table. My cutting mat won’t fit the table so it will live on the computer desk, which no longer holds a computer, and the printer got shifted to a table on the right side of the desk. A cheap coat rack has become a purse stand, which allowed me to clear out a shelf in my bedroom closet and get shoe boxes off the floor.

Since I was moving things around, the craft room closet had to be reorganized to take the bookcase that was in my way.

 

The 4 drawer carts are now stacked and hold my quilt fabrics and remnants. The bookcase holds books and magazines on the lower shelves, the upper shelf holds quilt/bag projects in individual bags and a fabric basket with odds and ends. I found half of a metal/plastic shelving unit to hold boxes and crates. The hanging fabrics on the upper right are 3 wallhanging tops and all the larger home decor remnants from the window treatments I have made. Can’t throw those treasures away!! They will be used for zippered pouches for Christmas presents.

And that’s my little slice of heaven. Of course we have a 14’x14′ bonus room just sitting empty right now. We planned it for our youngest daughter, but she has her own apartment for school. I could move everything up there, but at this point, I don’t have the energy!!! And then we would have to move all the bedroom furniture down here. Maybe someday. When it could look like this! That’s on Hubster’s Honey-Do list.

8 thoughts on “How many hobbies fit in a room?”

  1. I have squeezed a lot of stuff into my studio, but I tend to take over the whole house. My sewing machine is in an unused bedroom, and my jewelry project is on the screened porch! My husband is very tolerant!

Cat got your tongue?

