Quilting, Sewing

Cherry Vine

While waiting for Nina to get repaired I broke out the Singer. I want to make the Wide Open Bag and Miranda Day Bag, and I have materials for both. But I only have a walking foot on my Nina, and the Singer cannot handle all the layers. Instead of working on the things I have on my list I have been finding new things to make!

One recent new thing is a table runner using the fabric I got at Back Door Quilts. I got the 9 patch blocks together and then cut some setting pieces, but ran out of the cherry fabric. No problem, I knew they had yardage at Back Door Quilts. So I sat and pondered the blocks. And realized, I couldn’t figure out how to place them because they were 3 different fabrics. Which to put in the middle, which on the ends. Oh the issues this presents to people with OCAOF. Obsessive Compulsive Arranging Of Fabric. My “affliction”, which is symmetry, is especially hard hit with these situations. So I looked at the leftover fabrics and realized, I could get 2 more blocks out of them!! So I made 2 more blocks with the dark green and went to town.

Wanna see it in Mono? I knew that you did.

 

This really surprised me because I would never have thought that upper left block would lose it’s contrast. Good thing I am using larger areas of the colors next to each other.

I stopped at BDQ and grabbed more fabric and was ready to finish. And I did.


Dimensions: 36″x13″

So much happier with the piece now. The bonus? I have 2 blocks and enough leftovers to get 1 more of each color. I am thinking of doing a different setting and making another table runner. I just need to decide how I am going to do it. But first, I have my Nina back, so it’s bag making time!! The leftover table runner will have to wait. Just as this table runner will have to wait while I consider how to quilt it. Maybe even start learning how to Free Motion Quilt with the new foot I ordered.

Joining with Oh Scrap! today.

8 thoughts on “Cherry Vine”

Cat got your tongue?

