WIP Wednesday-Charity update

Seems like there is lots of charity sewing going on and not much me sewing! But it’s all good, since it’s for a worthy cause. Over the course of the last few months I have been starting and finishing quilts for others. What a good use of my time and a great way to hone my skills. Already out the door are the two Grandma’s Choice quilts. One to our Guild’s cause and the other to Jack’s Basket.


Love the contrast of on-point and straight with sashing

On the starting end of things I have started 3 more items for charity and have 1 finished.


The Potato Peel Pie Quilt
48″x64″

This one came by it’s name after a few iterations. A fellow quilter called it the Potato Famine Quilt. Then another guild member suggested The Potato Salad Quilt, since Famine was such a negative term. LOL. And then some sister members decided it must be The Potato Peel Pie Quilt, after the darling movie. This one was quilted by my friend on her LA. I’m not linking to the pattern because I totally messed it up!

The next one was put together in kit form from a fabric donation we received from Teri Degenkolb. It’s the 4 Hour Quilt Top aka Carpenter’s Star, sure it is. I have top and backing ready, just need to hand it off to another LA friend.


Shaded Star
56″x68″

The last start was begun on Monday while we were sewing at our bee. I LOVE these fabrics!! I found the 3 lights and then just started pulling from our store room of fabric. The pattern is one a member developed, I added one more border than she has written in the pattern. Another pieced back, to use up all those remnants, and this one is ready to be sandwiched and quilted by me. I am planning to do some linear lines crisscrossing the top. Intersected at weird angles and just following their own path.


Another Brick In The Wall
46″x56″
The colors are somewhere between the 2nd and 3rd photos.

So, what’s up in your corner of the sewing room today?

Linking with:
WOW
Inquiring Quilter
Midweek Makers

29 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday-Charity update

  1. Hi again! You’ve really got it going on lately. Lots of charity love right there. I love the fabrics you chose for the Another Brick quilt, and what a great use of the backing fabrics too. It’s amazing how different the two Grandma’s Choice quilts look. You’d never know they were the same pattern. ~smile~ Roseanne

  2. All great finishes. this week I am crushing on Another brick in the wall. I find the design created by color placement interesting.

  3. You are so sweet to do all that charity knitting!
    I am still struggling to sew a straight line on a very simple quilt. Yes, I use the guide on the foot, but I still get some wonky lines. Luckily I make wonky art quilts, so I think I can get away with some imperfection.

  4. Some wonderful projects there. Nice to have a storeroom to pull from. I don’t suppose any of this helps your own fabric totals? =)

  5. Gosh you are a charity quilt making machine! And each is so lovely. You’ll be making so many hearts happy with your incredible generosity. Thanks for sharing on Wednesday Wait Loss.

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.