Thorsday Three

Last night was the start of a 6 weeks course I am teaching on beginning knitting. I was extremely nervous as it has been a while since I taught knitting. I am not sure why I was nervous, knitting is like riding a bicycle, you never forget how to do it. I guess it was the being back to having a room of students looking expectantly at me! LOL

There were 10 signed up, but only 8 showed, so that was a little less terror. LOL! But all the ladies were so lovely and I think most of them got the cast on and knit stitch down well enough to practice over the week. Next week we look at the purl stitch.

My own knitting consisted of trying to get the 2nd clog done on Diva’s pair. I washed the first foot to see how well it was going to felt, having a front load means it takes a LOT of washing and drying to get the size needed.


I love comparing the size of felted to un-felted

Today is for getting my sewing room back in order. I have 3 bags of stuff I took to the knitting class to unpack, washed fabric to put away, projects to bag up or make progress on, and a clog to finish knitting! Then I want to get some knit projects going so I am not without a go to for knitting when I am away from home. That happened too many times recently, so off to cast on all the things!!

My 3 on Thorsday:

  1. Looking to the future and a wedding, which means I want to lose some pounds. So search for what will work for me.
  2. Casting on all the knit things!!! Cowl for sure, and maybe look at a sweater I have yarn for?
  3. Looking at ways to keep things better organized in my life and crafting, too many areas to keep in line. Lists, journals, blog, calendars?

Linking with:
NTT
Put Your Foot Down
Creative Compulsions
Free Motion Mavericks
Three on Thursday

25 thoughts on “Thorsday Three

  1. Hooray for the knitting class you are teaching! Remember the thrill of learning? I still do, even if it was forever ago!

  2. Hi Chris! I am looking to the future for a wedding in Jamaica. I’d like to lose some weight as well (actually a lot, but I’ll take whatever I can). Six weeks of classes! I was off yesterday and it briefly crossed my mind, wondering what time your class was. HAHA! Obvious, I didn’t come and crash it but I was sending you good vibes. ~smile~ Roseanne

  3. Glad you are passing on your knowledge of knitting! And bravo for teaching a whole class at once! (I volunteer teaching knitting at the local hospital but do it 1/1 and can’t imagine teaching a class.) Good luck with all your fun sounding projects!

  4. Busy times! How neat to be teaching a class 🙂 6 weeks is a good amount for beginning – they will have time to learn a good amount. I’m with you on the organization struggles!

  5. You’ve been busy. Teaching is terror inducing not matter the subject (at least to my mind), glad it turned out to be fun. Something to look at on the weight loss front, you might want to look at a web site called SparkPeople. You can set the weight you want to be, the time frame you want to loose over and it will give you a calorie goal and then it has places so you can track calories in and calories out. It helped me loose 50 lbs. I didn’t use a diet plan, I just found out what I was eating that I could keep eating and substituted the rest with veggies or lower calorie options.

    1. Thanks for the diet advice. I know that I need to do diet and exercise, I just need to find the exercise that suits me. That’s the hard part! I can’t run due to a replaced hip, and I am so not a runner! But I don’t enjoy just walking for the sake of walking. I want a fun activity I guess. > >

  6. Awesome that you are teaching others how to knit! Looks like you are getting close on diva’s 2nd clog. I totally understand you wanting to have knit projects started to take with you – I am the same with crocheted projects. Thanks for linking up to Creative Compulsions!

  7. Felting is even more magical than blocking. It never fails to amaze me how much a knitted piece of fabric can change.
    If you find the solution to getting organized, I hope you’ll share. I could definitely stand a bit of organization in my life.

  8. Hi Chris, I`m glad that the knitting class went well. Good luck with the organization. I’ve yet to find anything that works for me. I really think that the trick is consistency in using what ever you decide on. It`s so not my strength but I believe that some people can do it 🙂

  9. Hi Chris! Your house looks very festive for Christmas. Your DH put the ornament container away after only putting on a few ornaments?? That’s odd . . . and I can see why you may not find the oomph to get it back down. ~smile~ Roseanne

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.