2022 Round Robin Week 3 Stars

Today’s prompt comes from the Dynamic Duo of Roseanne & Sue!! Check out the execution of their block choice, Stars. And then make the “rounds” of the other designers to see how they interpreted the prompt. Here’s mine:

My first star thought was just a simple block.


It was too plain. 

It didn’t do anything for me. Even when I planned to alternate blue and red stars. So, back to the drawing board. The next star was it. And as I sit here writing this post I realize, it was the same star I used in the 1st RR, “M, M, M, My Corona”. 

I then wondered if I used the same star in the 2nd one, but it’s an Ohio Star.

My piece stood at 20.5″ after the curves with 4.5″ stars next, I needed to determine how many stars and what size coping strip to add. I added strips to build the piece to 25″ and 6 stars on the first sides and then 8 stars on the last 2 sides filled the space. which meant 28 stars needed to be made, oy! And each star had 21 patches, TIMES 28 BLOCKS! Why, why did I decide to make a larger quilt this time? LOL

Here’s the mock up of what I envisioned at this point.

After taking care of Squish each day, less studio time was leftover. Friday saw a push to get as far as possible, and by 7:00 pm I had 3 sides sewn on and 4 more blocks to make when I quit. Saturday was an all day visit to see family and friends, so no sewing. Sunday was the push day, do or die, and I got in the studio early, but then Squish needed me, so I watched her while Diva, CarGuy and Hubster worked on their old house demo, they are flipping it to sell. But it wasn’t planning to die on that hill, sooo I knuckled down and here it is!

I am TOTALLY in love with this design!!!*

Now, off you go to see how everyone else built their round!

*But I have to admit, I did mock up what it looks like using smaller Drunkard’s Path blocks. Why, why, did I do that! I love it even more. So, I am mocking it up in Christmas Colors for a future bed quilt.

30 thoughts on “2022 Round Robin Week 3 Stars

  1. Chris!! I just LOVE how your quilt is coming together. I prefer the existing version over the mock-up in Christmas fabrics although that is pretty darn nifty as well. WOW! I didn’t realize that Diva was working on flipping a house, too. She has a LOT on her plate, doesn’t she?!! She is so blessed to have you nearby and able and at the ready to take Ms. Squish whenever. I know you love every single moment! {{Hugs}} ~smile~ Roseanne

  2. Your SAHRR quilt is really looking awesome! I love the stars this week but haven’t figured out yet what I want mine to look like.

  3. I love it! Might have been a lot of piecing (and a LOT of pieces!) but it looks fabulous!!!!! And the same quilt in red & green also looks terrific!

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.