2022 Round Robin Week 6 Shoo Fly

It’s finally my week!!!! I didn’t have to think long about what block I wanted to use for my round, Shoo Fly, don’t bother me! They are fairly simple and don’t take a lot of work to make, so perfect for a top that needed 52 blocks!!! Why did I choose to make a large quilt this year? 

The only issue I have with the block is the odd sized pieces I needed to cut to get 4.5″ unfinished blocks. The HST were OK, I just cut them at 2.5″ and then trim them to size. But the center square and the rectangles needed to be cut 1-5/16″, Oy!

And, of course, I left it late in the week to work on, WHY???!!! That’s just the way I roll. Oh, I did 14 blocks early in the week, and then nothing until Saturday when I did a marathon cutting party*. Then Sunday was a sewathon to finish what I could.

At the end of Week 5 I had a piece that measured 48.5″ squarish. I needed coping strips to get the edges to 53.25, this was based on the length of 13 blocks. Coping strips help so much in getting things matched. I cut 3.25″ strips and sewed them around the edges and then trimmed up what wasn’t exactly square before adding the blocks.

I furiously worked through the Sunday, even though I had a few family interruptions, and by 9:00 pm I admitted, I wasn’t going to make it. So you may notice a missing side. The blocks aren’t even finished for it, but I believe by the end of Monday they will be. Now the question will be, more borders or am I done? I really want to add more, but it’s already pretty big, over 60″. More borders would make it 72″+. But I have a lovely piece that would make a great border, so I will play around with the possibilities before deciding when I am “done”.

Now join in the fun and share your progress with the SAHRR link up below. And send some good thoughts Anja’s way, she experienced some damage to her home, so her round robin journey has been interrupted.

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

*if the stacks look unusually large, that’s because I over cut, by twice as much as needed! Gah! I looked at the wrong number when I was cutting, and distracted by an awesome series I was binging, didn’t even stop to wonder at how much I was cutting! Oh well, at least I now have a leaders/enders project! LOL

33 thoughts on “2022 Round Robin Week 6 Shoo Fly

  1. Hi Chris! You sure DO have a beautiful piece on your hands. I didn’t even notice that you had one side without the shoo fly block. That closeup of the one single block is just stunning. That background fabric looks so nice yet unassuming. I look forward to seeing how you decide to complete this gorgeous project. {{Hugs}} ~smile~ Roseanne

  2. wow – it looks wonderful – a lot of work you have put into it but it is all coming together so well I really like it

  3. Your SAHRR quilt is awesome!! I love how each round complements the last one. I got bogged down after week 2 because I didn’t like any ideas I tried out.

    1. Thanks Kathleen, I love it. The question of borders is due to the end use. If this was for a bed I would, but it’s for picnicking, so I don’t want it to get too big. > >

  4. When you say, picnic quilt, what do you envision! On a picnic table, on the grass with Squish and her toys, or something else? My picnic quilts aren’t nearly as pretty as yours is! We are messy, rough and tumble picnickers!

    1. It’s for my Elder to use when she and hubby go to the lake or to concerts. So I don’t want it humongous! I am planning on using the lightest weight batting, bamboo? And not to dense on the quilting to keep it light.

      >

  5. Chris, I absolutely love this!!!!! I really like the space your coping strip borders give the whole quilt, and I think it will look great with or without an additional border. Fabulous quilt!

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.