TGIFF

Please join me and share your recent finishes with Thank God It’s Finished Friday!

My finish took a few months to arrive at done. Our friends’ daughter was expecting her baby the end of last year and I started his quilt in early October. But with all the things I had going on I was only able to get the top done and appliqué his name. And then put it aside to make things for a certain someone’s (Squish) 2nd birthday and Christmas. Plus I was trying to get a certain someone’s (mine) bed quilt finished! I finally got the top on the frame and quickly got to filling those fabric bands with quilting designs.

I considered doing a panto in each box, but decided trying to keep within the lines was too much trouble. So ruler work it was, but what motifs and what rulers? As I moved down the quilt I filled in the appliqué panel with 2″ grid pattern.

I started off easy with a small grid on point. I knew I would be using a larger grid for the letter panel, but decided duplicating it in a smaller size was not an issue. The 2nd band has a wavy line that I created with a Handi-Quilter ruler, a gentle swoop.

Then I used another H-Q ruler with a diamond opening to make Chevrons in the circle print. The 4th band is filled with circles, and circles in circles. Back to a H-Q ruler that has 4 sizes cut out, and other circle rulers I have in various sizes. They almost look like bubbles.

My final band has a thread plaid design, easy but fun straight line quilting. And before I knew it the top was done!! It seemed to just quilt itself. And I am absolutely smitten with it!!

A striped binding sets it off perfectly.

I did my first triangle label in the lower corner. Not sure if I am leaving the folded edge loose or maybe tack it down. It’s such a large opening I fear a foot getting caught in it and ripping the fabric.

Now it’s your turn to share your finishes! Be sure to come back and visit all those who link up, it’s always nice to get feedback on our projects.

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=c0efdbe6b4add43dd7ef

22 thoughts on “TGIFF

  1. Hi Chris! I’m sorry that I failed to have a finish. Well, wait a minute – I’m binding something that could be finished yet today. Maybe a late day post!! I’m so glad you were able to finish Ryker’s quilt. Just knowing he’ll be covered in all that love that you’ve sewn into it makes it all the more special. {{Hugs}} a bunch! ~smile~ Chickadee

  2. Hi Chris, I just love your choices of quilting designs. Your baby quilt really looks great! Thanks for hosting TGIFF and please consider linking up to Free Motion Mavericks. Ruler work counts!

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.