Friday FO or NO

He’s here!! Baby C made his appearance, so I can finally finish his quilt. I was waiting for his arrival to make his label. Now that I had a birth date I was able to embroider the label and sew it into the binding.

His quilt was a quick and easy block that took no time to piece together. I started the piecing at Quilts Plus after finding some blues that were better than the options I was trying to use from my stash. At least I was able to keep the white and gold I pulled from my house.

I love how the lighter blue hue is in the Grunge shading.

The block is a 12″ finished size so it only took 9 blocks to get a good sized baby quilt. And with the border adding 4″ more, it will be perfect for most any situation. I considered adding straight borders, but really loved the idea of continuing the design into the border.

My heat press really helped to get some flat blocks! Maybe some day I will actually try it with my sublimation printer and make T-shirts. LOL! So, the next issue was, quilting, how to quilt it. I had used a stencil on my EQ8 program that really appealed to me, so I fiddled around with my rulers until I found something that could duplicate some of the curved lines. Then I filled in with some SITD and Point to Point stitching. I kept it fairly open so the quilt would be soft and cuddly.

Baby C tried to make several advanced appearances, but decided to hang out a little longer in utero before deciding March 27th was the perfect date! So glad he has finally joined Big Sis and his Mom and Dad. His Sha-Granny, our friend, is over the moon! Good Luck Baby C, I hope. you enjoy your quilt! And your Green Bay Packers onesie, even though your Sha-Granny is forbidden from buying you any GB stuff, no one told me I couldn’t! Bwahahaha!!!

Prince Charming

14 thoughts on “Friday FO or NO

  1. I love Prince Charming! The colors are fabulous. I also love the color of that flat press-oh to have more space! Glad C’s grandmother was thrilled with the quilt….who wouldn’t be.

    1. Thanks Kathleen. Yes, I adore the heat press, but I need to remember to use it more often on my piecing!! A lot less dangerous for my hands than my iron. LOL

      >

  2. That’s a really pretty finish! I like that block and the way you continued it into the border. Great quilting, too, Chris! Lucky baby C!

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.