A brave new world

Or at least a new data base to join. I just found Textillia!!! Just the other day I pondered whether there was a sewing database out there, but nothing I searched on Bing gave me the answer. And then, quite by chance, I found a link to Textillia. So I am there under chrisknitssews, look me up if you are there and let me know who you are. It’s fledgling, so it will take time for it to get all set up, but hopefully it will be a great place to search for patterns and see them made up in real projects.

And this was a recent addition to my studio there. Another Girly Girl set, for the other GN. I changed out the ruffle and lining on this one. I wasn’t sure the striped fabric would work for the ruffle, but I love it!

 

The front and back were fussy cut to center the flowers. Now I wish I had lowered the blue one so the ruffle wouldn’t have covered the top. I am OCD like that. And since she will also need a wallet to hold her money and charge cards, I made another Sewing Roll from Simple, Fun, and Quickly Done. I am making one for myself in the larger size and with the same fabrics! I have my red zipper ready to go. But it will have to wait as my machine is in for repair.

$225.00 worth of repair! The feed dogs were shot. The needle position was off. It needs tuning and a screw is missing. But still, $225.00! At least it is lots cheaper than a new basic Bernina, $1399.00. Ouch! To tide me over until the machine is back I will pull out the cheap Singer and see if I can’t get the tension fixed on it and use it for basic piecing. And I plan to do quite a bit, cause this book is getting ordered next! Somebody stop me!!!

Absolutely before I start anything from that book I AM getting going on the Flying Geese Paper Pieced Project. See, I even got fabric to audition for it!

The geese will shade from cream to green, I need 12 fabrics, there are 13 here. I am hoping to find some more options in the green range. The splatter fabric will be the background, the print fabric will be a tiny flange border. The remaining yellows will be used for the pineapple table runner I am planning. And I will still have a ton of yellows left over. I am sure they will be put to good use eventually. Who knows, maybe in a quilt like this. Not sure how many blues I have on hand, but I could always go shopping for them!

Linking with:

Midweek Makers

Sewfreshquilts

Jo’s Country

10 thoughts on “A brave new world

  1. Gorgeous fabrics and a lovely plan! I love the bag and wallet. I’m pleased to hear you’re doing one for yourself:)
    Is Textillia a Ravelry for sewists? It sounds like fun that I shall avoid.

  2. Just went through the same scenario with my machine. Decided the small repair bill was better than the huge cost of a new machine. I’ll be moving to a two year maintenance schedule from now on.

  3. Love the girly girl set. Such pretty fabric! Eeks, sewing machines are expensive to fix! My MIL just gave me her vintage Singer which needs to have some maintenance work done on it. Now I’m scared to find out how much it will cost.

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.