Easter Is Here!

Well, at least the eggs are. I happened upon this adorable pattern while searching for egg shapes to use for a mini quilt. I knew I would be changing it up a bit to just use eggs for the center panel in place of the wording. But I didn’t want plain eggs so I did a bit of string sewing. This was a great way to use up some scraps along with the squares I pieced for the borders.

The Easter Egg Stages



Once I returned from the cruise it was time to back and quilt the top and apply the eggs. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to pre-quilt and then apply the eggs or vice-versa. I ended up applying the eggs to the quilt top around the edges and then quilting the background. I didn’t want the area under each egg to be flattened by the quilting. Once the background was done I finished off the squares with diagonal lines to create a chevron feel. I didn’t want just straight lines in a horizontal plane, I wanted more movement with the lines.

And now it’s all done and I can say that it is pretty much exactly as I envisioned.

And just because I still had it in mind to do a patchwork egg, which started the whole search for an egg shape, I whipped out a little mini that will hang next to my back door. I took scraps and cut them down to 2″ squares and then sewed them into a 4×5 grid. Then I traced the egg onto the panel. I also traced the egg shape onto fusible interfacing and sewed the egg shape to the interfacing. I used The Crafty Quilter’s method for appliquéing the piece.

 

For this one I decided to pre-quilt the piece and then apply the egg. I sewed the egg on with a scant 1/8″ line and then echoed the line on the background, a scant 1/8″ from the edge. I found the perfect striped scraps for the binding and in no time I had another piece ready for decorating the Easter Season.

Whoop Whoop
Off the Wall
Busy Hands
Crazy Mom
Sew Can She
Tish’s Adventures

14 thoughts on “Easter Is Here!

    1. Yes I am! And this year it will be a great weekend as my nephew is getting married on Saturday before. So all the family will be in town.

      On Fri, Mar 23, 2018 at 6:31 AM, chrisknitssews wrote:

      >

  1. What a wonderful table runner! You were so clever to string piece the eggs. They look like real Easter eggs! The mini is adorable with the piecing. Perfect fabric choices. Thanks for linking to Wednesday Wait Loss.

  2. Congrats on this Egg-cellent finish! I love the look that sewing the strings together gave the eggs. They are like little intricately decorated Easter Eggs. This will be a fun little addition to your Easter weekend 🙂

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.