Mini Dashing Baby Weston’s Quilt is Done!!!

Celebrate good times, come on! I am so thrilled with this finish. It has been so much fun piecing and quilting it, and even the binding was fun! Yes, I actually like sewing on bindings. Weird, I know.

So the details: a few months ago I saw Corey Yoders Dashing Quilt and fell for it. But I knew I would never make a full size so I moved on And then, OMG, I happened upon Mini Dashing!! Why didn’t I think of that! Just make it in a smaller version. So I got the pattern and planned to make it for my sewing room. And one day at Always In Stitches I happened upon some lovely focus fabric that I just had to have. Along with white to be a background and bright semi solids to pull out those colors, I was set. And then, news of a baby in the future dropped. Of course, it would now become a baby quilt!!!

Only, the size of the Mini Dashing was not going to work for baby. OK, make the block size bigger. Trial and error produced a viable plan and then the layout demanded a 5×5 block configuration and I was set.

I give you Mini Dashing Baby Weston!!!

I knew I wanted to play up the secondary pattern of the squares on point so I quilted around all the white “squares” and then criss-crossed through each block from corners to corners. I really wanted to do something neat in the borders, but just kept it to a ditch stitch between the two borders. It’s a baby quilt, it’s not going to be loved for it’s quilting, it’s hopefully going to be loved for it’s cozy comfort.


Leftover pieces used up all but a bit of the fabric pull!!


The perfect binding stripe was found by chance.

Sunday I will gift this to Momma and I hope she uses this quilt every day with Baby Weston after he arrives. It is meant to be used, not put away to save it.

Linking with
Whoop Whoop
Busy Hands
Silly Mama
UFO Busting
Oh Scrap

27 thoughts on “Mini Dashing Baby Weston’s Quilt is Done!!!

  1. Hi Chris! Oh, I love how this turned out. AND that binding!!! Perfecto. This pattern challenged you a bit, and that’s fun isn’t it?! I l.o.v.e. it. Happy Friday! ~smile~ Roseanne

  2. This looks like such a fun quilt! Glad you were able to make it work for your needs! I really like that pattern too! Your quilting sets it off perfectly!

    1. Little momma was so excited to open the quilt, she immediately asked me to teach her how to make one. Her mom swears Mak is my kid because we both love crafting.

      >

  3. It’s been so much fun following along as this quilt came to life! Congrats on your finish. I’m sure it will be well loved for more than just it’s comfy coziness ❤

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.