Orange You Green with Envy over my TGIFF?

So, it was a race to the finish on this one. I had put off quilting it due to some neck/shoulder issues. The quilting didn’t cause them, but sure wasn’t helping them! Tugging a throw sized quilt through a domestic is hard! Which is why I bought a Mid Arm!!! I am getting an Amara on a 5 foot frame from a local shop. It’s their demo, so it’s not brand spanking new, but I get all the warranty work and service with it! But now, Orange.

A few years ago I saw the pattern Urban Amish, a Double 9 Patch pattern, and knew I would make it. I had some gorgeous distressed orange fabric for the background and lots of green shades for the 9 patches. It was meant to be. I worked on the piecing and by the end May 2018 it was a flimsy. Sorry for the difference in colors throughout the post!

And then it sat for a long time! I put it on the UFO chart for 2020 and in September it’s number was drawn. I tried to get it done, but a last minute trip to Colorado stalled the quilting. But once home I realized, I needed this done for the TGIFF I am hosting today! Eek! So I powered through the quilting and got it done, Whew! It was a long and arduous journey, but one I am very proud to have completed. Even if there’s a ton of bobbles and wobbles and mess-ups in the quilting! LOL, no one will know unless they view it from a close distance.

I started by sewing diagonals through the 9 Patch blocks. Then I went back with a 4 in 1 ruler and did the curves. I was loosely playing along with Natalie Bonner’s 9 Patch QAL. But what to do with the plain blocks? Hmm, not sure, but knowing my love for Cross-hatching, I was sure it would be crossed. I just need to decide curved or straight. I really wanted curved, but that doesn’t work in square. Unless, you reverse the curve halfway across the square! So I did. And of course curved cross-hatch in the setting triangles happened. I don’t like how I handled the corner triangles this time, but that’s OK, they will be the least seen portion of the top.

Once that was all done I only needed a border design. Back to Natalie Bonner and a video she did with swags and piano keys!

1E77D5E5-95D1-4A4B-A90C-41B0D346586C

And before the clock struck midnight, OK, so it was really 2:00 pm on Thursday, the binding was stitched and the finished quilt was ready for a Fall photo shoot at our weekend campsite!

But alas, there was no sunshine when we arrived, so this is the best I could do, in our tent. I plan to update the photos as soon as the sun shines!

Come Join the party!

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=9c9b10dbdecdfb9300b0

Linking with
Whoop Whoop
From Bolt to Beauty
Finished or Not
Peacock Party
FMQ’ing

34 thoughts on “Orange You Green with Envy over my TGIFF?

  1. Hi Chris! Yay for a beautiful finish. A UFO that was deserving of this finish. Now enjoying camping with your peeps and friends. It is probably the last of the year, for sure. Our weather is taking a nosedive this weekend, but the 70s have had a nice run. {{Hugs}} ~smile~ Roseanne

  2. I know about wrestling quilts through a DSM but no mid arm in the works for me (sigh).

    I’ve had that Urban Amish pattern at APQ bookmarked for awhile. I loved it in the green in the pattern but I think I love your color choices more. And that quilting is spectacular. Congrats on finishing up that beauty!

  3. The quilting is beautiful! You are going to really excel at your new quilting frame and much better for your shoulders! I know!

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.